Skip to content

edu180atl: laura deisley 8.3.11

I stumbled upon this photograph over a year ago and wrote about it here. Funny, my mind gravitated to it today as I pondered what I’ve learned. Actually, it may be my heart calling me. She still speaks to me.

I linger.

For administrators, the first week back at school is an insane flurry of meetings. Long ones. Coupled with a thousand other wonderful things to do; it has been a full day already, with an equally full evening of more school-related events ahead. It is quite easy to get caught up again in the rush, the responsibility, the madness of it all; and yet, I have closed my door, and this blank page feels like a warm blanket, beckoning me to wrap myself in the moment, to write. That sense of welcoming me tells me something.

I linger.

Our youngest will be a senior in high school this year. Although the photo above is not of her, it certainly could be…intent and independent, she loves to have things to do. It seems like yesterday that she was barefoot, shaking off my hand, her brother’s shinguards on, running alongside his soccer team, seemingly telling us all “me play too.”

I linger.

Today I watched our faculty engage in their own learning, formally and informally. On their own. Without me. So often I feel the responsibility to “make learning happen,” to “teach.” I was not needed.

I linger.

Learning is about doing. And for me, today, it is about lingering.

About the Author: Laura Deisley (@deacs84) is a wife, mom, and learner with a passion for reading, travel, and connecting ideas and people.

Image Credit: intent by outlier* via Flickr Creative Commons License Attribution-ShareAlike-
Noncommercial

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Laura, lovely post. Made me think of the old camp sang we all sang on the last night… ummm, I wanna linger… ummm, a little longer. Lingering brings to mind a stillness. A peace. When we are still, then things can “come” to us. This takes me back to both previous posts actually… when we allow ourselves to linger and truly be in the moment, then we can observe (as Stephen Kennedy wrote of), and we can experience more fully the new (as Bella described yesterday). I especially appreciate your message to “linger” at the start of the school year. I feel such a rush of momentum, adrenaline, energy, anxiety, … it’s all so fast! Thank you for reminding me to linger.

    August 3, 2011
  2. Maryellen #

    Laura, in the midst of meetings, to-do lists of impossible length, and creative ideas swirling in my head without ample time for capturing, I so appreciate this post. Lingering. Be still and know.

    August 4, 2011
  3. Stephen G Kennedy #

    The ability to linger…reflect…let our otherwise-busy brain cells gather together on what drifts beneath the surface. Young children typically seem able to hold on to this ability longer than we adults can. The synapses they have formed must still enjoy the senses more, not yet aware that the culture will soon demand more critical social awareness, And Starbuck’s hyperactivity.
    Thank you for writing that requires us to linger longer over lunch….Stephen Kennedy

    August 6, 2011

Leave a Reply

