Skip to content

edu180atl: hayward mcever 8.8.11

I am currently not a student or teacher or even a parent of a student, but I will be a parent in October! I am 31 and have no other degrees to pursue in my future. It’s definitely a weird place to be after spending so many years in school striving toward the next grade/level. However, I would not state that I am no longer learning. There is so much more to learn about other things, such as people, once your formal schooling is done.

I found myself this past weekend actually reading an epic poem by Virgil and had to laugh for a moment.    What was I doing!?  What is it that causes people to desire to continue learning after their scheduled schooling is done?  Why do we want to keep learning and grow in knowledge? Is it just to impress people at the next Trivia game?

I would suggest it is to know ourselves more and understand the world around us. It gives us new perspectives and wisdom of how other people think and approach situations. We then in turn examine how we ourselves view the world and our place in it.

Much of my current learning comes from reading, something I didn’t really do until 5 years or so after college. It seems like the more I read the more wisdom I gain.  The answer to what I am learning today? We are never done learning and reading is one key to growth. Pick up a book today!

About the Author: Hayward McEver is a husband and future parent. He is an avid Braves, UNC and UGA fan and enjoys reading the paper and part of a book each day.   

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hayward,
    Congratulations on the up and coming parenthood; how wonderful! … talk about a situation that reminds us that learning is constant: Parenthood. In fact, just as your great post reminds us that learning is never “done”, spending time with children reminds me of that, too. The freshness, the openness, the natural curiosity and wonder of children presents such a brilliant reminder of the joy of learning. I really appreciated your comments that reading encourages us to know ourselves better and to consider different points of view. One of my greatest treats is carving out some time to read; there is little better than being lost in a book. Thanks for the wonderful reminder. Anna

    August 8, 2011
  2. Kimbrell #

    Hayward, great post! You took me right back to Mr. Finsthwait’s 10th grade English class and the many great books (and laughs!) we all shared. He would be proud of his former student 🙂

    August 8, 2011
  3. T #

    Mr. McEver, as another learning and reading enthusiast, I would love to see your recommended book list :). I’m curious!

    Thanks for the inspiring post.
    – Tara

    August 8, 2011
  4. “Why do we want to keep learning and grow in knowledge? Is it just to impress people at the next Trivia game?”

    This is often the cited reason for accumulating and spouting off trivia. There’s a good deal of truth to it; we all want to be perceived as smart and capable. But I think there’s a deeper truth to those trivia junkies, the keepers of “useless knowledge.” The optimist in me thinks that that display of wealth is a masked expression of a desire to connect with others.

    I was on a road trip recently, stopped on the roadside at an interpretive marker in Redwoods National Park. A man and woman pulled up on a Harley-Davidson Road King; the man and I swapped silly trivia about Redwoods. Within minutes it was revealed that we both read (and adored) “The Wild Trees” by Richard Preston. Our on-the-surface need to be the smarty-pants was really an expression for the love of a book about trees that became to us like family. The man, a retired sheriff from a coastal California town, teared up when he talked about the miracles, known and unknown, in the redwood canopy. I suspect that he and I drove into the park, in separate vehicles, from opposite ends of the park, dying to share that book with someone else.

    Earlier I referred to “useless knowledge.” It occurs to me that knowledge isn’t useless if it connects people. Keep on learning, and share what you’ve learned! Thanks for taking the time to put your thoughts down in pixels.

    August 8, 2011
  5. dobbsep #

    Hayward,
    Your post made my heart sing! As an English teacher, I can’t help but share your affinity for books. I love what you said about building wisdom through reading! I am going to give your post to my 8th graders to show them that I’m not crazy and that reading IS awesome.
    Thanks for your life-long learning example.

    August 9, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “Useless” knowledge | ¡Inglés fatal!

Leave a Reply

