Skip to content

edu180atl: rebekah wheadon 8.10.11

Today I was walking around my new school building, getting used to being in Junior High. I learned that some things will change.

In art I learned that our personality will change by liking new types of art. I also learned that I should not change my appearance. I am created in God’s image just like He wanted me to be.

In social studies we learned our society will change. We won’t always live by our neighbors. Sometimes our friends will find different friends. Another thing that can change is the buildings. For example, the Little White House recently burned down.

In science we learned our minds could change. We need to be careful about what we set our minds to. One main thing I focus on is God. He is the way everlasting (Psalms 139:24). Another thing I focus on is schoolwork and homework.

Here is one way I experienced change today:

This morning I was nervous about my homework and making sure I had it all done. I could not seem to shake the feeling I had forgotten something so I wrote this verse on my arm: Search me, O God, and know my heart: test me and know my anxious thoughts. Psalms 139:23. Every time I was nervous, I looked at it, I grew calm.

Change will come. If you haven’t experienced change yet, you will. You won’t always expect it, but be prepared by being ready to keep going after the change.

Rebekah Wheadon is called Bekah for short. She is a very energetic sixth grader who loves to draw, travel, climb trees, and cook.

Photo: “Catherine M. Rooney, 6th grade teacher instructs her alert pupils on the way and how of War Ration Book Two.” Series: Franklin D. Roosevelt Library Public Domain Photographs, compiled 1882 – 1962. Web. 10 Aug 2011. <arcweb.archives.gov/arc/action/ExternalIdSearch?id=196400>.

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Bekah, the notion of change, and openness to change as part of the process of learning, is so important. Thank you for sharing your reflections at the start of a new school year and for reminding us all, not only to look for change, but also to embrace it. I hope 6th grade is inspiring, uplifting, and full of continued learning and joy!

    August 10, 2011
  2. Brava, Bekah! How many of us experience the same thoughts and learning? “We won’t always live by our neighbors. Sometimes our friends will find different friends.” What a beautiful way to find calm when you are anxious. Thank you for sharing your coping skills when you are nervous.

    August 10, 2011
  3. So true, Bekah. We don’t always expect change, and we often don’t want change. But if we went through life choosing to only notice the things that are familiar, imagine all the wonderful, new things that would pass us by. Good luck with the beginning of a very new school year!

    August 10, 2011
  4. I can only say, “Amen!” to your post. Change is difficult for most of us and you have provided some great ways to adapt to change. Thank you for expressing so eloquently the thoughts of many kids this time of year!

    August 11, 2011
  5. rwheadon #

    That is an inspiringly bright outlook on things you have, as always.

    August 11, 2011
  6. Rhonda Hawkins #

    Rebekah, You are such an amazing young lady who continues to grow and change in amazing ways. God is going to use you in incredible ways. Enjoy 6th grade! Mrs. Hawkins

    August 11, 2011
  7. Becca,

    I love your spirit. And, I especially love this statement: “…be prepared by being ready to keep going after the change.” So many people fear change. I think I’m going to post that quote on my bulletin board. Can’t wait to see what conversations unfold around here…thanks to you! I hope you will “keep going after the change.”

    August 11, 2011
  8. Becca:

    Sounds like it has been a good beginning. Learning is change. Throughout the journey of 6th grade you will be changing as you peer around every corner. There may be bumps in the road like homework that is challenging or ideas you don’t understand the first time around, but perseverance will get you over those bumps in the road. Enjoy the journey you are on and have lots of fun. Thank you for sharing your first experiences.

    August 12, 2011
  9. Lori Sams #

    Bekah (My Sweet K5 Rebekah)

    What a great article. Change is always a little scary whether you are going from the village to elementary, elementary to Jr. High , JH to Sr. High, to college or even your first job. We are so blessed to have an incredible Heavenly Father that will never leave us and goes with us every step of the way. I am very proud of you and all of your achievements. I can’t wait to see how God is going to use you for His Kingdom in Jr. High.

    August 13, 2011
  10. David Wheadon #

    Rebekah,

    You have such a bright outlook at the changes you see and know will be new challenges and experiences. Enjoy your new year at school and all that we know you will achieve and succeed at.

    Grandpa Wheadon

    August 13, 2011
  11. David Wheadon #

    Bekah,

    What a great essay on change. Your outlook is awesome and will serve you well, I feel confident that you will be able to handle all situations that come your way. Your coping skills have totally inspired me. Thanks for reminding me of God’s scriptures. Have a Happy Year in 6th Grade.

    Love you.
    Grandma Wheadon

    August 13, 2011
  12. Marsie Walton #

    Rebekah, It is absolutely wonderful to see your bright face in Bible class. It shines with the light that can only come from Jesus. Love and blessing to you as your life continues to unfold.

    August 20, 2011
  13. Mr. 'A' #

    WoW! Bekah! What a mature outlook on change and its positives you have at such a young age. I’m so glad to see you have adapted well to Jr High’s need to change and be flexible. You are well on your way to being very successful in school and in life. Your article reminds me of this: “If you are not changing — you are not growing!” Keep it up, Bekah! 🙂

    August 20, 2011
  14. bekah #

    Thank you for all your comments!

    August 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

