Skip to content

edu180atl: mary stuart iverson 8.18.11

This past year, I became a parent. I have been amazed by the new responsibility to both learn and teach. As my child has started to eat table food, one of the biggest arenas for my “learning and teaching” has become the kitchen. Growing up I did not cook often, so it has been a challenge to be both creative and healthy.

One of the ways we have tried to accomplish this responsibility has been to eat locally and sustainably. We are participating in a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) through Serenbe Farms in Palmetto, Ga. We are constantly stretched to make creative meals with the variety of produce we receive. One of the vegetables we received last week was eggplant. The eggplant sat in our refrigerator for a week without any great ideas for an easy recipe besides Eggplant Parmesan (which my husband does not like).

Aha! A grand idea came to me… why not make eggplant French fries? Every child (and adult) loves a good French fry! Here is the recipe that I created:

Heat Oven to 400
Cut ends off Eggplant (I used Black Bell variety) and remove skin
Slice Eggplant into skinny fry slices
Arrange on baking sheet so each fry is flat and none overlap
Spray generously with olive oil cooking spray
Sprinkle dry oregano and sea salt
Bake for 45 minutes
Half way through baking add shredded parmesan cheese

What have I learned today? Eating locally can be an adventure… and Eggplant French Fries are quite the party pleaser.

About the author: Mary Stuart Iverson sells residential real estate with Harry Norman, Realtors. As an Atlanta native, she loves exploring the city and discovering new restaurants and hidden spots.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mary Stuart- this is so inspiring, both the recipe and eating locally. Thanks for sharing!

    August 19, 2011
  2. So, where was this post when my husband came home with an armful of handpicked eggplant from a friend’s garden? 🙂 Thanks for encouraging creativity, innovation, and a love of healthy eating and living. Thanks, Mary Stuart!

    August 19, 2011
  3. Love it! Cooking is a great way to learn.

    August 19, 2011
  4. Hey Mary stuart,
    I LOVE eggplant. Now I admit, even though I am self proclaimed gourmet cook I have never tried these eggplant fires before but now I will. Thank you for sharing your experimentation.

    Sucheta
    PS: Guess what, Hearth Pizza Tavern in Sandy Springs makes killer eggplant fries that you ought to give a try.

    August 20, 2011
    • Mary Stuart #

      Thanks Scheta! I can’t wait to give Hearth Pizza Tavern a try!

      August 22, 2011
  5. I love it! First, congratulations on parenthood… it’s a constant journey in learning and teaching! Eggplant is one of my favorite foods… has been since I was little. I love the idea that parents can model life-long learning for their children through their choices of food… where to purchase it, how to prepare it, how to think about what it gives our bodies, and how to think about our food choices impact the environment. I can’t wait to try the eggplant french fries (and to go to Pizza Tavern).

    August 20, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Reflecting on the edu180atl project « Quantum Progress

Leave a Reply

