Skip to content

edu180atl: deonte bridges

Today is the first day of classes for me here at Morehouse College. As I prepare to attend my first class, I have learned that the necessary thing to do to ensure my success here is to do all that I can do today, to understand that my success begins today.

My residence hall is named after civil rights activist W.E.B. Du Bois. As a result, I stumbled upon a quote today that alludes to my previous statement about my success beginning today and I quote, “Now is the accepted time, not tomorrow, not some more convenient season. It is today that our best work can be done and not some future day or future year.”

Simply stated, I have learned that there is not any room for procrastination. I have to take full advantage of every second, minute, and hour because when I am not doing anything, there are hundreds of others who are doing something. I have learned that it is today that we fit ourselves for the greater usefulness of tomorrow.

Deonte Bridges (@deontebridges) is a student at Morehouse College who made headlines last year by overcoming several adversities to become his high school’s first African American valedictorian in more than a decade.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Deonte:

    Thanks for sharing your post. I like how you are approaching your first day as school begins. What an honor it must be to walk into a home that is named after W.E.B. DuBois. He is one of my favorite writers and poets. I thought you might be interested in reading this poem by Davidy Whyte, Start Close In. It is one of my favorite poems and seems to resonate with the message you are communicating in your blog entry. Thanks again!

    http://www.panhala.net/Archive/Start_Close_In.html

    Bob Ryshke

    August 25, 2011
  2. Continue to set the examble for young men after you to follow . No better place to start than Morehouse !!!!

    August 25, 2011
  3. Awesome and inspiring words. If, in each moment, we do our best and give our best, then we have honored ourselves and those around us. There is so much joy to be found from being in community with those committed to growth. I try to share with my students that there is no shame in failure… the shame comes from not having tried to enter the game at all. Your post has reminded me of the power of embracing life to its very fullest… taking in the day and making the choice to be fully present in all that I do. Thank you for the inspiration.

    August 26, 2011
  4. Jeffery Womble #

    Deonte: Great work, young man. You are at the school at which you need to be. While I am not a Morehouse alumnus, I do know several graduates of that fine institution. You are right where you need to be and will fit in very well. Please know that your fans are rooting for you.

    October 30, 2011
  5. Cheryl Lewis #

    As an educator I applaud you and your work ethic. As a single mother of two African American males your story brings tears of hope to my eyes. Simply said, “Thanks for being all you can be and for inspiring others to do as well.”

    November 22, 2011
  6. Bill Scott #

    Hey D! Happy New Year! So it looks like you made a change academically. I hope Morehouse works for you as you continue your road to success!

    January 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

