Skip to content

edu180atl: michelle murphy 9.6.11

I happened to be listening to 97.9 this morning on my way to school and enjoyed a flashback to the 80’s and 90’s with hits such as “Manic Monday” by the Bangles, “Raspberry Beret” by Prince, and finally “The Sign” by Ace of Base. First of all, I could not imagine a better start to a rainy Tuesday. Better yet, my mind flooded with memories from summers during middle school, which I spent choreographing  dances with my cousin in her basement to these very songs.

I interrupted my daydream and thought for a moment about how some of my best memories came from those spontaneous moments in life such as creating dances to my “mix tape” playlists, playing the triangle peg board game before breakfasts at Aunt Sarah’s Pancake House, and saving up my allowance in order to buy as much candy as I could for $1.10 in coins.

Each morning before school, I am surrounded by dozens of 8th graders, fighting to tell me stories, which today, included running through the woods and discovering a copperhead, rope burns from tubing, and playing jokes on older siblings home from college. These memories and stories remind me of the importance of unstructured time, allowing life to be spontaneous, using one’s imagination, and thinking through what will really serve as a memory later on in life.  So do something spontaneous today, make a memory, and if you need some inspiration, I can loan you my Ace of Base tape.

About the author: Michelle Murphy (@MCMurphy82) is an 8th grade science teacher at the Lovett School.

Image taken by Michelle Murphy

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. a good reminder to value unstructured time and the learning that takes place spontaneously.

    September 6, 2011
  2. It seems like the deepest memories are in the little things, those moments that on the surface might go unnoticed but which get embedded in us. Interestingly it is not the “content” we remember, but rather our experience of it.

    That, to me, is a reminder to keep it all in balance, and make sure we get more of those memorable experiences.

    Thanks, Michelle!

    September 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

