Skip to content

edu180atl: anna harrison 9.19.11

Practice makes perfect. It’s a phrase that’s been drummed into our brains by countless others, repeated over and over by coaches and parents alike.

But does it really?

“Oh. My. Gosh.” That was my first reaction to the picture on the left. “What is this? Is that me?” I was way too far ahead of Beau’s motion; I was gripping with my knees, my leg was too far back, and my elbows looked like chicken wings. Not good.

So I practiced. But I practiced something I was passionate about and dedicated myself to it. If I weren’t passionate about horse riding, if I didn’t dedicate myself to it, the picture on the right would be nonexistent. In the picture to the right, I’m up in the air not because I gripped with my knees, but because I used my legs. My elbows are tucked in, and my heel is right behind the girth. When I saw this picture, I freaked out—it was a big improvement.

I love to ride horses. I love that feeling you get when you’re dangling in midair for that split-second over a jump. I love that moment when something clicks, when horse and rider work together seamlessly.

You can’t get better at something unless you want to get better. Without that love of riding, I wouldn’t have gotten better as quickly. I wouldn’t have dedicated myself to getting better. Practice can make “perfect,” but you need to have a positive mindset and the desire to get better. If you don’t have that desire, then you won’t go anywhere.

About the Author: Anna Harrison is a 12-year-old rider, piano player, basketball player, goalie, and one of the biggest Harry Potter fans you’ll ever meet. She is a proud Ravenclaw.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Maryellen #

    Anna, I can hear your passion and determination as I read this post. My favorite portion is the last paragraph:

    You can’t get better at something unless you want to get better. Without that love of riding, I wouldn’t have gotten better as quickly. I wouldn’t have dedicated myself to getting better. Practice can make “perfect,” but you need to have a positive mindset and the desire to get better. If you don’t have that desire, then you won’t go anywhere

    To have learned this as a young person is quite remarkable.

    September 20, 2011

Leave a Reply

