Skip to content

edu180atl: jen murphy 9.21.11

Each year since I began teaching, I have kept a journal to reflect on my transition from the old world I knew to the world of education as well as to document things I would like to change in my classroom from one year to the next.  During the first few weeks of school, I try to take some time to look through that journal and today I found a hilarious entry from my first week of teaching…

“This has been the most insane week ever.  But did I mention how much fun?  My co-teacher and I set the date for the next test—ONE WEEK FROM TUESDAY!!!  Holy cow!  I have a ton of material to cover with them before the test and on a 4-day week next week.  Aaaah!  I have a ton of work to do this weekend.  But it’s good work.  Work I’m actually looking forward to—how cool is that?!?”

What did I learn today?  I learned that it’s always good practice to remind myself why I chose this profession and how much I love it—how much I’ve loved it from the very start.  So while I and my amazing colleagues are busy herding cats, soothing tears, teaching study skills, calling parents, picking up smelly gym clothes, and trying desperately to work in some well-rounded meaningful education, I can still find a quiet moment to remember that each day I smile, each day I laugh, and each day I lay down my head satisfied.

About the Author: Jen is a wife and mathematics teacher at an independent school in Atlanta. 

Image Credit: cc licensed (BY) flickr photo shared by purplemoonmist

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sarah Neale Williams #

    Wow! This post couldn’t have been more perfect for me to read today. I needed this reminder at the end of my day. It helped remind me that I DO truly love what I do everyday and it’s a blessing I am able to do it. This is something I need to reflect on everyday, especially those difficult, draining days when it’s so easy to forget, easy to complain, and easy to lose that passion. Thank you so much for a perfectly timed, inspirational thought today and for re-planting a much needed “seed” in my brain!

    September 21, 2011
  2. Jen,

    I’m catching up on my reading, and am delighted to find your words. It seems the thing we oft forget is “gratitude.” What a great perspective to have as we start a day, such that we can end the day with “laying our head(s) down satisfied.”

    Thank you!

    September 27, 2011
  3. Maria Drinkard #

    Loved your post!

    September 29, 2011
  4. Donna Knott #

    Jen, this post shows only a few of the reasons you are an excellent teacher and an asset to the school! What a great reminder and I think I’ll be coming back to your comment later this year when things get nutty and I’m a the end of my rope. It will inspire me to carry on and laugh a little!

    September 29, 2011

Leave a Reply

