Skip to content

edu180atl: anna moore 10.1.11

The day starts at 5:45.  A pretty typical start for my house.  Wake and feed kids, double-check backpacks and school materials for: viola, leotard, snacks, signed homework papers, library books. Discuss, yet again, with my 5-year-old the fact that I don’t think he should keep a huge book in his backpack just “to make his backpack heavy like the big kids’.” Race out the door to drop kids off at school and head to my work… I’m a teacher. At school: find 1 girl in homeroom to make sure she got a message, teach for 3 hours, attend an administrative meeting, attend a faculty development meeting, call 3 parents back about 4 different issues, email a colleague about a pressing issue, have phone calls with 2 colleagues about other classroom issues, comfort a parent I see upset in the parking lot, race to the gym to coach for an hour-and-a-half, pick up my children, head to a school sporting event they both want to see, come home, cook dinner, call a work colleague to follow-up on an issue that arose, call parents of a child who got hurt at practice to make sure she’s okay, make a mental list of all the work I need to do once the children go to bed… and then: bedtime reading with my son. I was tired from my day, feeling stress at things I wish I’d done better, worried about things I had yet to do… and yet, here I had these sacred moments nestled in the top of a bunk bed with 10 pillows, 5 Star Wars characters, 50 glass marbles, 6 stuffed animals, and my precious son who just wanted his mom to read with him.  So: the day melted away and we read.  And, here’s what I learned today:  letters make really cool sounds. I have no idea when he learned this, but my son would find a letter on page, point to it, say the name, then say the letter sound, and then make some motion that fit the letter sound. Like this:  Say P. Say Puh.  Now, put your hand to your mouth and say “puh” so you feel the letter.  Get it?  So simple and yet so amazing.  My son was fascinated by letter sounds tonight.  He had a little trick for every letter.  He kept saying “m” every time he saw “n”, but at some point in his life I’m sure he’ll figure that out. Anyway, after my day, I just love that my 5-year-old was able to remind me how amazing words and letters are.  His dirty knees will just stay that way for one more day because no way was I going to interrupt reading time for bath time tonight.

Anna Moore (@abaconmoore) teaches high school biology after making the leap out of the Ivory Tower and into the amazing world of high school education.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Stephen G. Kennedy #

    A wonderful comment on how learning is ongoing nonstop continuous, no matter where when how. Inside outside the school building and from morning to nighttime routines with children. A poetic commentary on both the busyness and the beauty of the day.

    October 1, 2011
  2. Millie Pryles #

    Oh Anna, how true and to see the discovery of a 5 year learning to connect letters, sounds and finally words together…the miracle of learning to read! You are right, that was the most important thing you did in your busy day.

    October 1, 2011
  3. Chelsea Kolff #

    Anna,
    I love your little son and all his excitement. His appearances on our hall always remind me of how fun and exciting learning can be… I wish his language teachers could hear him talk about the languages he’s learning at school and how truly awesome he thinks it is – completely unprompted. I love his soap and water, glitter and glue ‘experiments’ in your fridge. Reminds me of the conversation on yesterday’s (I think?)
    post about curiosity, asking questions, and where we lose that in school. I saw more engagement out of some of my 11th grade biology students than I have all year when I let them have ‘free microscope time’ for exploration, but more of them were floating and seemed unable to anchor themselves in a self-directed activity with little direction from me.

    Anyways, I loved your post and admire your ability to find joy and meaning in those little moments even in a day with so many other moments!

    October 5, 2011
  4. “So: the day melted away and we read.”

    Magnificent articulation of grace, my friend.
    THANK YOU, as always, and I hope to see you soon in that place we both mutually call “work”…
    🙂

    October 11, 2011

Leave a Reply

