Skip to content

edu180atl: donna knott 10.19.11

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about how all of us have been touched by the lives of others.  I’ve been a librarian for about 23 years and have seen hundreds of students in my various libraries.  Now, you wouldn’t think that a librarian would get to know the students all that well.  I have, and I am a better person for it!  In fact, I still keep in touch with many of them, including one young woman from my very first school…she’s a beautiful 30 something woman now!

Each one of these kids has left an indelible impression on my life!  I have learned how to be strong and live a life of compassion and joy even when the person you love most is dying.  I have learned that  gifts and talents can change your life as long as you are true to your dreams.  I have witnessed a unique personality leading to the most interesting and least-traveled (and most fun) paths.  I have watched a troubled life come from the streets of Atlanta and evolve into one full of promise and success.  It’s been an amazing and joyful road.  All of these young people have lent their light to me and that light shines brightly in my memory.  Even on my darkest days, its warm glow warms me and reminds me that maybe I too have touched their lives in some small way.

 

Donna Knott a book lover, fan of teachers, and the middle school librarian at The Lovett School. She blogs at TeenTomes.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful reflection about the lives you have touched and the lives which have touched you. As I think back to the RE:ED Future of Libraries weekend, my group spent time describing the role of the librarian. In addition to “librarian,” you are a teacher, coach, therapist, research guru, all kinds of lit (young and adult) expert, and many more things … all at the same time!

    As I think back to my K-12 days, I am grateful for the teachers and librarians who helped shape who I am as a reader, writer, and thinker. All left indelible impressions on who I am and who I will become in my future years. Thank you for reminding me of the power of these connections…and for pushing me to go and thank the people in my life who have inspired me to be the reader, writer, and thinker that I am now. They have certainly touched my life in an amazing way!

    October 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

