Skip to content

edu180atl: molly gronski 10.27.11

I walked into the cafeteria this morning to grab a cup of coffee and there was a celebration under way. Several students were gathered around tables, proudly displaying colorful, handmade critters.  They were celebrating Mole Day, the yearly commemoration of Avogadro’s number, 6.02 x 1023 , which is a fundamental unit of measurement in Chemistry.  I amazed myself by remembering not only the mole, but also its use, despite the fact that I studied chemistry over a decade ago.

The moles made me recall that chemistry was the one science that I truly loved. I loved balancing equations and I will never forget the flaming bubbles that ignited my desire to study chemistry. This morning’s gathering reminded me of my own Mole Day celebration, the stuffed mole that I made but most importantly reminded me of a teacher, Mrs. Raish, who had such a lasting influence on me as a learner.

Those moles reminded me that as teachers, the lessons we give or the days we celebrate will impact our students, long after they graduate. The moles reminded me of Mrs. Raish and illuminated for me the cyclical nature of teaching and learning. They highlighted that although the years have passed and I myself am now a teacher, a seemingly silly activity like Mole Day, can remind us of the joy of learning. Moles made me realize how in today’s students we can see ourselves. The moles made me remember…and smile.

About the author: Molly Gronski teaches high school Spanish at the Lovett School. She loves to read, play soccer and travel the world.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love the whimsical side of events in High School such as Mole Day. Did they hammer a nail with a banana?

    October 27, 2011
  2. Lynnae #

    Sure was good to read from you, Molly. We never had Mole Day back in the day, but we have pi day now, on 3-14. Time to start planning a party…

    October 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

