Skip to content

edu180atl: sang-jin lee 10.28.11

Today I further deepened my understanding of why it is always important to keep an open “growth” mindset.  In Physics today we were presented with multiple different situations in which there was a side A and a side B, and we were each assigned to a side. After we were assigned a side, we were given twenty minutes to defend our given side. Throughout this entire process, I learned that in order to truly succeed, you must have a willingness to be open to new ideas, and you must be willing to learn. This was highlighted in our discussions because my opinions on different situations would change in an instant if somebody brought up a point (or multiple) points that I had originally passed over. I also learned that two people can be right in an argument. I think what I learned in Physics can and should be applied to every aspect of your life. In order to truly do well at something, you must be willing to accept new ideas, and you must be willing to do a lot of arguing and discussing until you finally get to what you want. Also, you cannot just see something and instantly understand it, you must first go through a sort of “trial and error” process. To achieve excellence, we must “fail often to succeed sooner”.

About the author: Sang-Jin Lee. Musician, runs cross country, prefers “new-er” classroom environments v.s old, traditional classroom environments.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. “I also learned that two people can be right in an argument.”

    Sang-Jin, I can’t think of a more important lesson to learn for the times in which we live. Keep building bridges. Bravo!

    October 28, 2011
  2. I love your comment at the end “we must fail often to succeed sooner.” I think you have raised some interesting points around the challenge of working collaborating with people who have different points of view. We need to listen and learn in order to change our perspective. I would ask this question:

    When is the last time we changed a deeply held belief, an opinion or a perspective based on a conversation with another person?

    Can we expect to change if what we expect is to “get what we want out of a conversation?”

    Really, it is about learning what it is like to remain open to the ideas of others. SIt quietly with our own thoughts as a stream of information comes in from the voices of others. Taking the time to really listen.

    In so many of the situations I am in, I rarely see people deeply listening to others. Most people are ready to jump in with their next thought. I do this quite often and I’m trying to catch myself and not be so anxious in the midst of others. The Zen of Listening.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Bob Ryshke
    Center for Teaching

    October 30, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. edu180atl #Synergy | jplgough's posterous
  2. edu180atl #Synergy | Synergy 8 Posterous

Leave a Reply

