Skip to content

edu180atl maryellen berry 11.1.2011

Whether the source was the candy coma, the lingering effects of a busy weekend, or the temptation of the snooze button, my typical routine changed when I awoke forty-five minutes later than usual. Like a dead car battery receiving a jolt, the time on the clock spurred me into quick action. Fortunately, my husband had agreed to bring my daughter to school, which meant I only needed to take care of myself. What could have been a treat turned into a harried flurry of activity. Instead, I focused on quickly selecting clothes to wear and dressing, grabbing coffee to go, hastily throwing my papers and computer in the bag, and racing to the car.

Frustrated that my morning began so hurriedly, I unlocked the car, threw my head back, and let out a characteristic sigh. Before me, bright stars sprinkled the dark sky. In that moment, my rushing ceased. In that moment, I took a deep breath. And in that moment, my morning irritations came to a halt. I witnessed magnificence in the simplest form and yet the kind that literally takes breath away.

How often do I let the pebble in my shoe detract me from the blessings of the moment? It is painfully simpler to focus on the irritations at any given time than it is to widen the lens to intentionally take account of what is right in front of me. I am surrounded by blessings – simple, and profound.

Maryellen Berry (@fastwalker10) is inspired by faith and family. She is a division head who also loves performing, singing, and discovering joy.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great post, MB. Thanks for a reminder that I sorely needed today. I hope that you, your family, and the Trinity community is doing well.

    November 2, 2011
  2. Stephen G. Kennedy #

    I agree with Willy – this is a great post. A reminder not to be distracted by the harried papers that fly in front of our face at work. By the sand that irritates the soles of our shoes and the self-consciousness that grinds down our souls. Thank you for reflecting on what matters, and how the matter of the early morning stars should fill us fuller than the matter that preoccupies so much of us daily…

    November 2, 2011
  3. Kara Koetter #

    What a beautiful reminder to not let the “pebbles in your shoes” become your focus but the blessings that surround you. Though they may be small and some may be big it is important for us as busy members of society to take those in. Thank you for helping remind me of this.

    November 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

