Skip to content

edu180atl: adrian dingle 11.2.11

It was in the summer of this year when I agreed to write for the edu180atl project. Back then I randomly chose November 2nd, but at the same time consciously looked for a date well into the academic year, since I felt sure that by that time it would have fallen into its usual, highly predictable routine, and as such that I would be able to write from the comfort of my own couch in a leisurely and unhurried way with everything ‘under control’. It would have been difficult for me to be more wrong!

Rather than fitting the writing of this post into the ‘usual’ Wednesday afternoon routine, I am actually writing from the kitchen of one of my dearest and oldest friends, in a suburb of London, as I prepare to attend the ceremony for the School Library Association of the UK’s Information Book Award, where a book that I wrote has been nominated for recognition. That scenario was most definitely not on my radar last August, and the disruption that has occurred to my normal routine by travelling to London and preparing for the ceremony this week has been somewhat stressful. Anyone that knows me knows that I am a pretty buttoned-down, regimented type when it comes to my work but I guess that today’s lesson is a simple one that we all know, but occasionally benefit from being reminded of, i.e. that a change of plan can be a really good thing!

We all have the tendency to get entrenched in the comfort of what we know well and what we think we can safely predict. Removal of that comfort zone is naturally a scary thing, but as I have been reminded of this week, such change also has the potential to be tremendously exciting, renewing and invigorating. I say ‘Change? Bring it on!’

Adrian Dingle is an Englishman who teaches chemistry at The Westminster Schools in Atlanta, and wrote (among others) the book, ‘How To Make A Universe With 92 Ingredients’.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Probably should read your book some day soon! I love the title so the meat of the book is probably worthy of a good summer read.

    Bob

    November 3, 2011
  2. ” I say ‘Change? Bring it on!’” …Sounds like it has been a great trip and that you have found it so worthwhile. Congratulations on your award from the School Library Association!

    November 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

