Skip to content

edu180atl: neisha freeman 11.3.2011

I have always enjoyed learning, engaging, exploring, and imagining on my own. However, when required to do it in a group setting, like the traditional classroom, I am somewhat lazy.

Ironically, everyday I work to motivate young people who seem to have the same lackadaisical attitude about learning. They wouldn’t believe how much I secretly empathize with them. There’s a constant struggle between what I want to do and what I have to do. I have been in and out of college for many years never forgetting how important my advanced education was but lacking the fortitude to finish. This past June I enrolled in a university, AGAIN. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, I’m due to graduate in 2013. I go to class from 6pm to 10pm and here it is Nov. 3rd and in a couple of hours I will be in class. Today I had to take off of work to complete two essays which are due before class starts, I may not get them done.

So today, as I play homework catch up I’ve learned I must practice what I preach. How can I tell teenagers every day to stay focused and finish school when I lack the ability to do the same. If I tell the kids everyday that they can be whatever they want but it’s going to take hard work, I must take my own best advice. I have to focus and I have to finish.

Neisha Freeman (@shebemissfree) program coordinator and mentor at Whitefoord Computer Clubhouse and student of Human Services, mother, photographer, lover of food and music.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

