Skip to content

edu180atl: neely hudson 11.10.11

I work in a high school library.  Teen pregnancy is not uncommon, so I thought a women’s health collection would be an excellent addition to our media center.  Not long at all after this tome was shelved, a student inscribed obscene etchings on select pages with permanent marker.  I was dismayed at the act of vandalism, and confused as to why one of my students would destroy property with such hateful language.  But then I took a moment to reframe my thinking and consider the vast possibilities in her background that might cause such extreme behavior. I’ll never forget that frightening realization that some of our students come out of horror filled existences. When our children enter our school and walk down our clean and shiny hallways, they are sometimes arriving from and traveling home to realities we cannot comprehend.

 

Neely Hudson is a “book nerd” at a high school media center.  She has the best, best job in the world and always knows what book you should read… and it’s usually street lit.

 

Photo credit:  http://www.visualphotos.com

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great description of the school in a low income area. Teenagers have raw emotions, anyway. You have a compassionate insight to their reality.

    November 11, 2011
  2. Well written an really hits home in our area. – Dad

    November 11, 2011
  3. Elizabeth, you are so correct in your observation that some students travel home to realities we can’t comprehend. By no means am I from a privileged background, but when I taught I was very surprised by some of the stories my students shared. Some sold drugs to help care for siblings/parents/grandparents or their own kids. Some had lost numerous friends. Some had two or three children. Because I recognized that their circumstances were often ones I could not comprehend, many days my priorities/attention was focused on the students, not whether they had their shirts tucked-in or pants pulled up. Strangely enough though, when they realized that I genuinely cared, I hardly ever had to ask them to tuck-in their shirts or pull-up their pants.

    November 14, 2011

Leave a Reply

