Skip to content

edu180atl: cason wilson 11.16.11

Tonight my school will celebrate the successes of our athletes at our Fall Sports Award Ceremony.  Cross-country began in mid-September and ended just last week.  The season saw hard-work, much improvement, and its fair share of laughs.  My fellow coaches and I created workouts, encouraged students, and even ran a little ourselves.  Despite my coaching “expertise,” over the course of the past eight weeks, I am certain that I have learned more from my students than they have from me.Just last Wednesday, at our league’s concluding championship meet, I overheard some sixth- and seventh-grade boys discussing shapes.  “That one looks like a smiling man.”  “Oh, and that one looks like a dinosaur!”  When I looked over the boys, their faces upward toward the sky, I realized they were seeing images among the clouds.

In that moment, I was reminded of how important it is to reflect on perspective, to take the time to notice things, and to engage our imagination.  How much more interesting life is when clouds can be dinosaurs, when running spikes produce super-hero speed, and when a simple relay-race is converted into the most important game of chase ever played.

As teachers, we, too, must engage our imaginations.  We must ensure that our lessons lend themselves to lively discussions, multiple interpretations, and fun for our students.  Afterall, we may be happily surprised at the conclusions reached by the minds of middle schoolers.

About the Author: Cason Wilson is in her first year of coaching and teaching.  She is constantly working on her form, both on the trail and in the classroom.  Lover of American History and drinker of too much coffee, she is also an alumna of The Westminster Schools.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

