Skip to content

edu180atl: kay solomon 11.17.11

Subjects.  Predicates.  Predicate parts.  It’s all simple grammar.  Simple grammar my elementary-aged daughter has begun to learn in school, and surely I remembered it all.

One day last week, my daughter and I were having an incredibly engaging discussion (snark) about what made up the predicate part of a sentence.  The way she was describing it was wrong, the way I saw it.  After all, I looked it up on the world wide web! 

So when I checked her homework Monday evening, I said, “The grammar part of your homework is incorrect.  You didn’t underline the predicate.”  She said, “MY teacher said that the predicate is the verb and the predicate part is this part” (as she pointed to the remainder of the sentence, including the verb).   I said, “No, that’s not right.”  She replied, “MY teacher told me it’s this way.”  I retorted, “I think you may have not heard her right.”  She insisted, “No, mommy.  My teacher said…”

We went around this same block several times.  Until I said to her, “Okay, do it the way you want, and when your teacher marks it wrong, we’ll know for sure.”  How motherly.

So I looked at her homework sheet the other night for her teacher’s explanation.

And sure enough, I was wrong!

Me.  Mommy.

Eat. Humble. Pie.

Big.

Piece.

So, reflecting on this today…what did I learn? I learned about subjects.  I learned about predicates.  And I learned my daughter often knows what she’s talking about, even if she is 40 years younger than I.

About the Author: Kay (@KSol007) is a wife, mother, and teacher of religious studies.  Takes lots of risks in teaching practice, sometimes with good results.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

