Skip to content

edu180atl: ross peters 11.18.11

Today we had a Talent Assembly where students performed music for our high school community. When I was a student, I wouldn’t have dreamed of doing this. To step up to the microphone to sing or to play the piano,flute, or guitar would have been beyond my imagination. I wouldn’t have risked it. I wouldn’t have been able to abide the idea that I might do it poorly or that others might laugh at me for trying.

I was so proud of the students who stepped up today. For each of them courage, skill, and hard work was met with generous applause. I hope each of them felt the glow that follows a job done so well.

I learned today that it takes both the performer and the community to make this kind of event successful. What I saw was not only students displaying remarkable talent, but also audience members cheering the performers as they walked on stage and as they exited. It was a genuine andwarm applause that rolled through the through the crowd of around 900 people. Good things can happen in such a school, in such a community. It strikes methat we must work hard in schools not to take the power of community for granted and not to assume it will take care of itself. I believe we must focus attention on building and strengthening community, as it makes so much that can be great about a school possible.

About the Author: English teacher, folk art fan, travel novice, and guitar hack, Ross Peters is HS Principal at The Westminster Schools. twitter: @jrosspeters; blog: http://jrosspeters.wordpress.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

