Skip to content

edu180atl: monise seward 11.28.11

What I Learned Today: As a parent, sometimes I’m all they got.

I’d be lying if I said I just learned that today. I’ve actually been feeling that way for some time, but here lately I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m all they got. By ‘they’, I mean my kids. Yes, those to whom I gave birth. But also those I once taught, those I desire to teach, and those faces I see hanging out at the library because it’s the only safe place for kids.

What I see makes me wonder why my community doesn’t offer more for the youth? The district and community have failed to address the changing needs of the ‘changing demographic.’ Families whose children are labeled “Title I” or “low-income,” resort to sending their latch-key kids home unsupervised because our schools do not offer low-cost or income-based alternatives. And too many people are o.k. with that. I am not.

Until someone shows me something different, I will continue to operate as I’ve done because ‘I’m all they got.’ Even if that means I resort to begging for money to start an academically and artistically enriching program, then that is what I will do.

About the author: Notre Dame Alum, Soccer Mom, Edu-Blogger, Fndr @Wake_The_Artist, Grant Writer & CEO of @HvnMustB_LkThis. Advocate 4 all things Kid-Arts-Education related.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Stephen G. Kennedy #

    I love the candor, the blunt honesty, the from-the-heart-and-soul beauty of this. It is sad, true, and a rough comment on how part of our society treats another part of our society. But I admire your courage and your willingness to be a powerful voice that speaks against the attitude of Give Up and Accept It.

    This is beautifully done. Though I admit to feeling disheartened by our world’s state of affairs at times — I am encouraged by your attitude and strength and nobility.

    November 28, 2011
  2. Wow, Stephen…I am speechless. Sometimes I wonder if my words are too harsh or in your face but then I realize that’s exactly what those in power need to hear. My intent is never to offend, but instead to get people to realize that we cannot believe everything lawmakers/education officials tell us because, more often than not, they don’t ever talk to the same people I see and talk to in my community.

    Again, thank you for taking the time to comment and I especially thank you for ‘getting’ my point.

    Monise

    November 28, 2011
  3. P. Jackson #

    Hi Monise:

    Here’s a a fee-free enrichment opportunity for young people who love to write in grades 3-5. Go to wsbtv.com drop down box “community” then People 2 People and see the story on Young Voices With New Visions Young Playwrights. Our website yvnvplays.org

    Thank you for your candor and concern for our youth.

    November 29, 2011
  4. P. Jackson #

    Please note, I should have said that Young Voices With New Visions “Write A Dream” Short Play Competition is open to students any where in the world in grades 3-12. Go to yvnvplays.org for more info.

    November 29, 2011
  5. Thank you so much! I am definitely going to check out that program. I appreciate the referral!

    Monise

    November 29, 2011

Leave a Reply

