Skip to content

edu180atl: sabrina manns 11.30.11

What I learned today is that I am seriously out of practice as a writer. Do you know long it has taken me to put pen to paper (yes—a real pen to real paper)? Let’s just say enough time that one would expect brilliance to follow.  It doesn’t. 

With this realization that my writing skills are seriously lacking, I am reminded of the importance of truly practicing what I tell my students to do.  If I tell my students I want them to be like professional writers, writing every day about the big and little things that happen in their lives, then I need to be writing every day. If I tell my students being a good scientist requires being observant of the world around them, then I need to heighten my awareness of what’s going on around me.

Going through this blog writing experience gave me an understanding of the learning processes my own students work through and struggle with.  I have new insight (and a lot more empathy) that I believe will help me become a better educator.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got some writing to do.

About the author: Sabrina Manns is an elementary teacher whose passion is working with struggling readers.  She loves working for the City Schools of Decatur, and her new job as Mama.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sarah Neale Williams #

    I really identified with your post! First, I feel the same exact way about my writing skills. I wrote all the time during college, especially as a grad student, but I just recently was having a conversation with someone about how difficult it would be for me to write a strong paper now. Like you, I teach elementary kids writing and science, so your comments about those specific subject really struck a chord with me. I definitely needed the reminder to “practice what I preach.” I, too, am left with new insight (and empathy) from reading your post and reflecting on your words. Thank you. 🙂

    November 30, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Learning Links 12.5.11 | Teaching & Learning at Trinity
  2. You Should Read…(December 11, 2011)

Leave a Reply

