Skip to content

edu180atl: will floyd 12.8.11

As a Sixth Grader, I learned a whole new meaning of strength.

It all started a week ago at the NYO championship game. As the whistle blew for the kickoff, I knew it was going to be a hard game. Well, everything went wrong for us, the Texans! The Jets kept scoring until the last minute: Jets 27, Texans 0.

As the final seconds ticked down, our defense stood together on the field, locked arms, and started to sway. It was instinct. No one told us to. By swaying, my team became more united than at any other time in the season. During that time, my team and I remembered the good times. At that moment, I became stronger by showing solidarity. I became a better teammate by cheering up my team. I became a better person by seeing past wins and losses.

True strength is

…staying with a team through ups and downs.

…giving your best effort when you know you can’t win.

…getting up when life knocks you down.

That night, I learned that it’s not about winning. It’s really about getting back up and showing strength. Life will sometimes knock us down. There will be times when I can’t dig myself out of a schoolwork pile, accidents when I break a bone, or regret after not being invited to a party. I’ll find strength in knowing that help is available, I can try a new way, or I can simply shake it off.

About the Author: Will is a 12 year old sixth grader at Trinity School. He is a football enthusiast and loves to create and build, and also work with teams. He loves to spend time coaching little kids in lacrosse.

8 Comments Post a comment
  1. Will:

    I like the simplicity and power of your thinking on the meaning of strength. What does it mean to be strong? Your post reflects on the personal or character side of strength, which often gets overlooked. Thank you for reflecting on this and sharing your personal story that caused you to realigned your thinking. Appreciate it.

    Bob

    December 8, 2011
  2. Hi Will!

    I had the pleasure of working with you dad a few years ago, and so from his stories know a little of who you are. These words are bound to make him especially proud of you. And, I look forward to sharing them with my 21 year-old son, also named Will, who will resonate with your experience and may learn from the wise words of a 6th grader.

    Be strong! Thanks for sharing your learning!

    December 8, 2011
  3. Stephen G. Kennedy #

    “Will” is also what you displayed when you decided to make the team effort work for you and others. “Will” is also the “will”ingness to bounce back when something knocks you down. I like your writing — clear, honest, thoughtful, and reflective. Your focus on teamwork and resilience makes sense in a world that is a bit fragile and flaky — though personally I think football risks a few too many unnecessary concussions. I love that you teach lacrosse to young kids — that’s great! Thanks for your writing — keep at it!

    December 8, 2011
  4. Will- I am so proud of you. Your writing is wonderful. You show great resiliance in your attitude!
    Miss Connie

    December 9, 2011
  5. Will, your story is full of wisdom and grace. When society can sometimes seem to push “win at all costs,” your post reminds us that the character-board is more important, ultimately, than the scoreboard. With you in possession of this mindset, I imagine you will grow even stronger as you undertake experiences from which you can learn and develop. When we fear failing and losing, we truly have failed and lost. When we use disappointment and loss to inform our thinking and empathy, we become agile for the next event and opportunity to improve. Thanks for teaching us all today about the core of strength and winning.

    December 9, 2011
  6. Marilyn Bauer #

    Will, I especially enjoy reading posts written by students on this wonderful blog. You remind us of the valuable lessons we all learn in young adulthood that we carry with us through our lives. I know that football is a passion of yours, and I’m especially proud that you are growing as a person through athletics. Keep your eyes wide open as a writer as you experience new and interesting things, and continue to share your insights with others. Your words have power!

    December 9, 2011
  7. Will, I have observed your positive attitude during school hours. I have also picked up on the fact that you are passionate about football! I’m glad you and your teammates are able to overlook the scoreboard and unite as one! You will go far in life, if you can keep a positive attitude during the most difficult challenges in life. I am very impressed with you and your teammates, you are wise beyond your years! Each day, everyone gets to choose to pick people up or push them down. I know you will always pick people up!

    December 9, 2011
  8. Janet Parks #

    Dear Will,
    Wow! What a powerful piece of writing! It shows real maturity in your thinking, and I must say, it gave me some good advice. I just joined a really bad soccer team and was thinking about quitting. After reading this, I think that I will stick with it and help my teammates get better by encouraging them. Thanks and I am really proud of you.
    Mrs. Parks

    December 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

