Skip to content

edu180atl: marsha little 12.15.11

Today, and every day, I learned that I am not superwoman.

Today, and every day, I learned that for every item I complete on my to-do list, there will be five additional items to add, and I will never, ever have everything crossed off.

Today, and every day, I learned that the highlights of my day are when I step away from that never-ending to-do list to listen, share, or laugh with my students or colleagues. As proud as I was to cross two (yes, two!) things off my list today, the highlights of my day were lunch with recent grads who regaled me with stories from their first semester in college, laughing with a good friend, sharing tales of woe with a colleague, providing thoughtful counsel to a student, and sending a congratulatory email to a freshman who met hard-won success. Alas, none of these things was on my to-do list.

Today, and every day, I learned that reasonable, thoughtful, intelligent people can look at the same situation and reach radically different conclusions. And if those same reasonable, thoughtful, and intelligent people are empathetic and respectful, they can teach each other a lot.

Today, and every day, I learned that there are many more opportunities to say thank you and congratulations than I ever take advantage of, and seizing just a few of those moments is well worth the effort.

Today, and every day, I learned that there are lessons that have to be re-learned every single day.

About the Author: Marsha Little is upper school dean of academic affairs at The Lovett School. She likes solving problems, but Tangram puzzles make her cry.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lynnae #

    Thank you, Marsha. I love hearing from you, and you are SOOOO right about all of this. Happy Holidays! Lynnae

    December 15, 2011
  2. Recursive learning, indeed.
    Thank you, Marsha.
    We all have to simply keep at it, alongside students and colleagues.
    Together we build. Imagine the surprising lessons.

    December 16, 2011
  3. Marsha,

    In this especially busy time of year, where lists seem to be the only thing to keep us sane, this is such a lovely reminder. It’s not always about “to do;” it is about “to be.” I oft need to remind myself of this. (Surprise, surprise.)

    Thank you for your friendship and the beauty of your words.

    Laura

    December 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

