Skip to content

edu180atl: deb ellis 1.18.12

‘I am amazing!’ she sings out happily, floating on her back. Four years old and swim-float-swimming across a pool. Reaching the ladder, she flashes a grin. ‘I did it, Ms. Deb! I am amazing!’

A few weeks before my student spent her survival swim lessons in tears, full of fear and doubt and What Ifs. What if she sank? What if I didn’t help her when she needed it? What if she failed?

At night I reviewed her lessons, searching for the key to unlock her confidence. How could I help her see and believe in her abilities?

Finally, I devised a plan. Every time she tried floating on her back, she must declare, ‘I am amazing!’

That first afternoon she offered only a whisper… ‘I am amazing?’ With each attempt, I smiled above her, looking in her eyes and repeating with her, ‘You are amazing!’ Soon she was confidently declaring her awesomeness and floating solo.

Preparing for another season, I am mindful of the impact of words. Our society pays close attention to what our children say to each other. But what they say to themselves is also crucial to their success.

Since that one student I am more conscious of listening to children’s self-talk. And of how I model self-talk in front of them. Every now and then, I’ll throw out my arms and declare to my two sons, ‘I am amazing!’

I hope one day they respond, arms open wide, ‘I am amazing too!’

About the Author: A mother of 2 fantastic boys attending High Meadows School, Deb Ellis is a freelance writer and ISR Swim Instructor with Turtle Tots Swimming. She learns much more from her children and students than she teaches. Partly because she’s goofy (but mostly to embarrass her sons), she likes to declare her worth in odd places like the cereal aisle at Costco.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hey Deb!

    Do you teach not-so-tiny tots? What I really mean is do you teach grown-ups? LOL Great story. I wish I had been introduced to the water as a kid, before I nearly drowned. I am sure I would enjoy it much more.

    Monise

    January 18, 2012
  2. Hey Monise, Unfortunately I do not teach bigger people. My son also almost drowned which is how I got involved in the program. I am happy you are well and hope you find someone to help you master yourself in the water. It is a skill that lasts a lifetime and, as you know, can save lives. Best of luck in all your learning in life! Deb

    January 19, 2012
  3. Brenda #

    You are amazing! And because of you, there is more amazement in our world…
    Much Love, Brenda

    January 20, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. edu180atl and the power of words, stories, voices « Toward Wide-Awakeness

Leave a Reply

