Skip to content

edu180atl: julia osteen 1.23.12

Do the Hard Stuff.

Today I had just one of those incredibly crazy days. One of those days when things come flying at you from every direction. It was the total opposite of calm. In the midst of all of the craziness, I knew that I absolutely MUST connect with two friends. I have been needing to talk with these two friends for a while now and today was going to be the day. Then, life happened. Phones were ringing and problems were appearing. After multiple attempts during the day, I finally connected with both of my friends. It was not an easy process in bringing the connections to fruition. But the connections were made and my life was enriched through those connections.

When I talk to teachers about the importance of being a connected educator, they often tell me how hard it is to have time to make that happen. Life does happen. In a school, things do fly at you from all directions. But do we appropriate the time needed to do those things that are important to us? Do we find ways to make things work when short on time?

What I learned today is that I can make time to do those things most important to me. It is easy to let the urgent crowd out the important. It is hard to stick to my guns and stay true to the important things that need to be done. Connecting is hard. So I learned to do the hard stuff.

About the author: Julia Osteen, @josteen, teaches 6th graders Language Arts & supports teachers with tech integration: Loves reading and music; Enjoys inspiring others.

photo by mconnors; http://morguefile.com/archive/display/4762

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. This is beautiful and it reminds me of another thought provoking post I read today in the very same vein. The greatest 21st century skill.

    January 24, 2012
  2. “It is easy to let the urgent crowd out the important.” What a powerful sentiment. I agree with John–it’s a critically important skill that’s becoming ever more so. One of technology’s most obvious byproducts is immediacy (of content, of process, of collaboration and implementation). While the concept of “urgent vs. important” is sometimes learned implicitly in character education curricula, it’s not explicitly expressed often enough. Thanks Julia for putting it down in pixels.

    January 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

