Skip to content

edu180atl: rod garcia 1.27.12

Today I met some of the most talented business students. On the surface, they could pass for any other student. However, after talking to them and studying their accomplishments, very little is “normal” about them. They have achieved the highest possible levels in their studies while carefully picking their classes to be challenged as much as possible. More interesting to me, they have invested significant time in other activities and actually stood out there as well, despite them just being a hobby. Reflecting about what sets these individuals apart, I realized they have all chosen to do what they love. And they did it with the full dedication that only passion can yield. Because of that, they always aspired to the best; never compromised. More importantly, they took the time to learn the lesson, stand up and try harder after they had failed. This is not a great discovery after all. In essence, isn’t what I see in these students the same we see in elite athletes? Why is it different from my friend the piano player who seemed at odds with his century playing classical music but today is an acclaimed performer? Is it possible that “top performers” in any walk of life are just people that are not afraid to do what they love? Today I learnt to always do what I love… maybe because even if I am wrong about this “top performer” thing, it will still be my best choice when I look back. Rod Garcia is a management consultant, originally from Argentina who moved to Atlanta four years ago. He loves his wife, cooking Italian meals for friends, baking bread, and playing field hockey… oh yes, and his job.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Julie Sadtler #

    Ahh, what you write reminds me of a book I read (thanks to my husband) called Mindset by Carol Dweck….what you’re talking about is a growth mindset that sets these people apart. That despite their past failures and setbacks, or potentially that they may not have the most natural ability, they have the passion and drive to succeed, and may therefore outperform their peers. I also think it’s a good reminder to have an open mind to feedback from others… Thanks, Rod.

    January 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

