Skip to content

edu180atl: anne yanda 2.3.12

A coach once told me, “Don’t invest your entire life into one activity, because if it gets taken away, your entire life will seem like it’s over.” Unfortunately, this valuable advice was too little too late for me.

Volleyball has been my whole life since I can remember. It prevents me from participating in social events such as my senior prom. To be honest, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

July 1st: I was playing in the quarterfinals of the Junior Olympics with my club volleyball team. Chasing after a ball, I dove into a chair on the sidelines…

…I made myself ignore the pain, assuming that it was a sprained ankle. After playing about five more months on it, I wasn’t able to walk without pain and found out that I had broken my foot and needed surgery.

When I found out the news, I was devastated. However, the first day I used crutches, it all became a reality and I learned the biggest lesson of my life.

I learned that I took so many things for granted. I took the use of my hands and feet, the privilege of running up the stairs or driving places for granted. I didn’t appreciate my ability to play and the physical, mental and emotional benefits that volleyball gave me. Although I have been on crutches for 9 weeks, I know that when I am able to walk, I will never take these things for granted again.

About the Author: Anne Yanda is a senior at Holy Innocents’ Episcopal School. She signed to play volleyball at the University of Iowa next year. She plans to study nursing.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Vanessa Reid #

    Anne – You are amazing, my dear.

    Ms. Reid

    February 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

