Skip to content

edu180atl: michael lomuscio 2.6.12

Last night I began reading a book called “The Lady Tasting Tea.” One of the key individuals in the book is a famous statistician by the name of Ronald Fisher. There are many mathematical concepts that are associated with his name and I felt like I knew a good bit about him. However, I didn’t know what time period he lived in. It is very easy, when studying a subject as old as math, to start to assume that every established concept in the field was developed back in the days of the Greeks.

While reading I discovered that Fisher actually lived from 1890 – 1962. This fact instantly had an impact on me. A great mathematician who had developed countless ground breaking concepts had died only 22 years before I was born. Immediately I felt a deeper connection to a subject I had studied for years. This wasn’t some obscure individual form an ancient past; he was really part of my story. He was part of a time and culture extremely similar to my own and directly impacted the world that I currently live in. I felt like his story was now part of my story.

I realized that I need to do a better job of helping my students understand the narrative of mathematics. I want them to see how what they are learning fits into a larger story that involves their own lives and that the past is not always as far back as them might think.

Michael Lomuscio teaches High School Mathematics. He lives with his family in NE Georgia where they enjoy the mountainous outdoors.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

