Skip to content

edu180atl: mary hannah martin 2.8.12

Today I learned how to help people in Zambia.

We could give money to them so they could buy more furniture and more clothes. And we’re going to help them get enough money to go to school. Older brothers and sisters have to carry their younger baby brothers and sisters on their back or belly and they don’t hold them like we do in Georgia.

Today I learned that in Africa that there’s a kind of tree that looks like the roots are sticking up on the top. It can collect water for the animals to drink if it gets hot. I also learned about the Adinkra Cloth and made my own square of one. I learned this in the morning when all the Kindergarten classes came to my class. Kate’s grandfather went to Zambia, and he learned that the children there love to be in pictures, and they have to carry everything on their head except buckets of water. They carry those in their hands. They have to boil the water until it is clean enough to drink. If I were going to Zambia, I would help people raise money and if they don’t have schools, I’ll help them get some schools.

Mary Hannah Martin is a 1st-grader-in-training at Mount Vernon Presbyterian School. She loves writing and illustrating her own books.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mary Hannah, it sounds like you are learning how to make a big impact in the world!

    February 8, 2012
  2. Cara Mills #

    That is fantastic! So impressive.

    February 8, 2012
  3. I am soooo very proud of my first-grade-in-training! I absolutely loved reading all your descriptive writing…I was able to make a GREAT movie in my brain! Mary Hannah, you are WONDERFUL!!

    February 13, 2012
  4. Good job for writing about Zambia and doing it all by yourself! Miller
    That is very good, Mary Hannah! Cate
    I love it! DJ
    I like what you did! Sophia
    I like it! Zandy
    I liked that you talked about Zambia! William
    I love your note! Will
    Great job, Mary Hannah! Connor
    Good job, Mary Hannah! Kate
    I love it, Mary Hannah! Emily

    February 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

