Skip to content

edu180atl: margee durand 2.16.12

The devil rides on my shoulder, a diminutive, grinning fellow that I can’t seem to dislodge from his perch. My constant companion. He is cynical, sarcastic, and uproariously funny. His soft whispers near my ear bring wonderfully horrific tableaus to mind that resemble something between Bosch and Dalí. He advises me to speak when I shouldn’t, distracts me from my list of noble endeavors, and, generally, creates chaos in a heart and mind struggling to behave as instructed/expected. He wholeheartedly encourages missteps and is eager to give absolution for such, a rather troublesome confessor at best.

Yet he has taught me far more that I could have learned without him. He has taught me patience, understanding, kindness, the antithesis of his mutterings. From his taunts and suggestions, ruses and misdirections, I have learned to deal with all that comes my way with humor and an almost (emphasis on almost) Zen-like attitude.

I am learning to embrace my sinister little friend but delighting in his ambition to mislead me, comfortable in the knowledge that he will unwittingly put me on a path to being a better person.

About the author: Margee Durand – middle school English teacher, a little edgy but becoming a better person everyday.  Loves reading, writing, surfing, and anything that could raise an eyebrow!

Creative Commons credit from Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/phill_dvsn/2568089633/sizes/l/in/photostream/

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love how your picture dovetails with your personal story from today. That little guy is somewhat sinister, but his bright white eyes indicate a certain deliberate attention to watching over your shoulder. Thank you Margee for your reflection on the devilish little guy who sits on your shoulder.

    Bob

    February 16, 2012
  2. Loved your post today, Margee– you little Devil! Thanks for sharing!!!

    February 16, 2012
  3. Coyote comes to mind, too. That trickster teaches all kinds of wisdom, in his own, sly, slinky way.

    February 23, 2012
  4. Jen #

    Love this Margee!

    March 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

