Skip to content

edu180atl: jenny terpstra 2.24.12

For a short work week, only 3 days, I packed in as much as possible and wonder if my students felt the strain of trying to cram it all in.  I look at them and I’m always hopeful to see the spark in their eyes that they are excited about learning. 

But then I have a day where no matter how energetic I am or the number of times I have them respond or move around, they seem to just be here.

So what have I learned?

My students care about what I do and how I present it.  Although they might say that it’s “awkward” when I wear a pink and white tutu to class, they love it.  Although the boys groaned when I told them we were going to study Little House on the Prairie, they loved it. As you can see in my picture, a simple listing activity changed my day and my outlook.  It is my goal to create this year and I’ve only just started.

I thought I was creating the memories and the experiences, turns out, the kids are creating it for me.

About the Author: Jenny Terpstra (@JennyDJennyT) teaches fourth and fifth grade reading and language arts.  She is a designer, an innovator, and a costume-wearing facilitator of student learning.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. It is so encouraging to see dedicated teachers making a difference in the lives of kids! Thanks for what you do.

    February 24, 2012
  2. Ashley Brazzel #

    Ms. Terpstra is the GREATEST! By wearing her tutus and being herself she teaches the children it is good to be themselves- just who God created them to be! We love her “authentic self”!

    February 29, 2012
  3. Nichole #

    You rock!!!!! Seriously, thank you for being one of the grandest teachers ever!!!!
    Hugs,
    Nichole brennan

    February 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

