Skip to content

edu180atl: emma lin 2.27.12

I sat on a chair eating dinner, looking around and picking at my food, thinking about my poor dog and wondering if he would ever come back.

Half a week later, my dog came back looking the same as always and jumping happily and barking. His little under-bite looked up at me, and I wondered how I ever could be worried about a dog that was so light-hearted that he would never get hurt.

During this time, I was also balancing studying for final exams. Between finals and my hurt dog I was pretty stressed.

After a little while I sat down and thought and this is what I learned. What I learned is that I cannot over-stress. If I over-stress I mess something up or forget about everything important. But, if I under-stress it could result in careless answers. So I learned that I have to balance my stress, not too much, but not too little. This will help me strive to do well.

This is a lesson that has helped me throughout my exam study time and will help me later on.

About the Author: Emma Lin is a 6th Grader at Trinity School.  She enjoys dance and playing the violin. She wants to be a skilled volleyball player or an actor.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Maryellen Berry #

    Emma,
    Learning this lesson early on will be a gift for a lifetime. I wish I had learned it in Sixth Grade! I have found that the scale of stress is easily tipped, and our attitude tends to keep it balanced.

    February 28, 2012
  2. I’m often amazed at the Zen-like wisdom of our young people today. Emma, you have articulated here a profound insight: the importance of balance in our lives. This was a theme articulated by the Buddha 2500 years ago when he advocated taking a Middle Way in life, but he came to this insight after years of asceticism and meditation. You have come to this truth on your own – as a 6th grader no less!

    A question for the adult readers of this blog, especially the educators: what happens to this natural wisdom that children possess – what is it about our society and schools that seems to “educate” this away? I’m reminded of Sir Ken Robinson’s talk in which he cites a longitudinal study on creativity that shows that kindergarten students score higher on the creativity scale than middle school students.

    Emma, I hope you can maintain your wisdom through life and find balance in all that you do!

    March 1, 2012
  3. This is a great post, Emma! I love that you’re able to realize this so early in life. Thank you for the reminder! 🙂

    March 18, 2012
  4. Sara Nalley #

    Emma, your deeply artistic soul will always pull you in many directions during your lifetime. That you could learn this important life lesson now is miraclous, and yet you have probably already had many experiences with your performances where stress made you play and dance your best while other times it caused you more anxiety than you thought, in the end, it should have. Learning to keep life in balance is a very difficult, ongoing life lesson. I am impressed you listened so wisely to your own heart to learn this lesson now!

    March 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

