Skip to content

edu180atl: tim mccauley 2.29.2012

On the way to school I was listening to last Sunday’s homily from my old parish in Greenville, SC. Suddenly, I remembered that I had seen something on our priests’ Facebook page I wanted to examine further. While I was looking for that “something” on Fr. Newman’s page, “something” else caught my eye: a quote from my hero, G.K. Chesterton. Chesterton says, “Merely having an open mind is nothing; the object of opening the mind, as of opening the mouth, is to shut it again on something solid.”

I began to reflect: what is “solid”? How do we know what is “solid”? Can something be “solid” to us, but not universally “solid”?

As my NT Bible class tackled the difficulties of the Apostle Paul’s position on righteousness and justification in Romans, I began to see them think. You know what I mean: that visible change that occurs on anyone’s face as their mind begins to putter to life and then roar into delirium. They saw Paul as contradictory, they contradicted themselves, they got lost in Paul’s words, they got lost in their own words, they misunderstood Paul, and they misunderstood themselves. It was a beautiful thing to watch.

As they left, my own question came back to me, and, inspired by their example, I decided to think. I simply sat, and thought. I don’t have all the answers to my question, but I have some. And, what’s more, I can’t wait to talk to my students about them tomorrow.

Tim McCauley (@mccauleyWMS) teaches JH Latin and HS Bible. He is finishing his Master’s in Theology this summer at Notre Dame. 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I love your openness to the power of befuddlement and all the ways it can, if treated with regard, lead to understanding. A very thoughtful post. Thank you.

    February 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

