Skip to content

edu180atl: lily morgan 3.23.12

On Tuesday night, I went to a high school registration meeting. It was long and humid and confusing. There were so many options! I don’t like options. I like everything to be set in stone so I don’t have to make decisions. So this was pretty much torture. I didn’t know what to do! I had so many questions. Should I take summer school? Should I have a free period? What Spanish course should I take?

Then, sometime late last night, while I was supposed to be sleeping but instead reading course descriptions and planning out my schedule for the next 4 years of my life; I remembered one very simple lesson that I was taught to me by my 4th grade teacher:

Live in the moment.

And all of a sudden a wave of calm washed over me. I realized that I don’t need to worry about whether I want to take an extra year of science in 12th grade. I’m not even finished with 8th grade yet!

So today, I learned (or rather, re-learned) the importance of living in the moment. Sometimes we all just need to take a step back from our fast-paced lifestyles, stop planning every detail in our lives, and focus not on what’s happening NEXT, but rather what’s happening NOW.

About the Author: Lily Morgan, an energetic 8th grader at Westminster, is a lacrosse player and a violinist. She loves to try new things and is terrified of fish.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lily:

    I totally understand the feelings you have around making decisions and being confused by a menu that is large. I like your solution, live in the moment. The moment is now and not losing site of the wonderful things happening in 8th grade. Why look so far ahead that you struggle seeing the good in what is happening now? You are wise and clearly a good learner. What I mean is that you picked up on some good ideas from your 4th grade teacher.

    I will process what you shared and try to live in the moment today. I am attending a conference and still trying to keep up with email from work. Why not forget about work and stay connected to the good things happening at the conference.

    Thanks for your wisdom.

    Bob Ryshke

    March 23, 2012
  2. Shannon Hipp #

    Lilmo!
    I am so happy that edu180atl has taken this amazing step to include student perspectives, and yours is well articulated and exceedingly honest. I have no doubt that living according to the words of your wise fourth grade teacher will indeed pay off enormous dividends. Keep the levelheaded perspective, and thank you so much for your contribution. Miss you and all the rest of my WMS students 🙂
    Dr. Hipp

    March 23, 2012
  3. Mary Fletcher Stewart #

    Lily,
    Us adults need to take your advice! Living in the moment is a whole lot easier to deal with than worrying about what may or may not be upcoming. Proud of you!
    Mary Fletcher Stewart

    March 24, 2012
  4. Connie Sudlow #

    Lily-I love what you had to say and will try to live in the moment! thanks for the wonderful advice.
    Miss Connie

    March 26, 2012
  5. Brava, Lily! Live in the moment, indeed!

    March 30, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Reflecting on the edu180atl project « Quantum Progress

Leave a Reply

