Skip to content

edu180atl: lindsey horton 4.20.12

I still remember the note my mother wrote me after my high school graduation – full of love and pride, hope and promise.  And I still remember the advice she gave based on theologian Frederick Buechner’s book Wishful Thinking.  Look for a place “…where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.”

Today, I learned that I have found that place more than a few times.

I woke early for a run in the neighborhood.  Running on my own is therapeutic, peaceful, energizing.  Earlier this year, I began to take that passion and share it with a group of middle school students as a coach through Girls on the Run.  Our team used running as an outlet to address critical issues – bullying, drugs and alcohol, self-esteem, eating disorders.

Deep gladness meets deep hunger.

At work, I spent the day reading about heavy metal poisoning of children in developing countries.  I carefully crafted sentence after sentence for a publication to educate scientists on the need for intervention.  I read, wrote, thought and discussed with other similarly energized colleagues seeking to provide a foundation for action to address a global problem.

Deep gladness meets deep hunger.

Now I sit thinking about my life.  Years spent teaching students on a small Pacific island.  Hours devoted to mentoring and tutoring refugees.  Moments dedicated to building relationships with family and friends.  Afternoons helping a child learn to ride her bike.

Today, I learned that I have found that place.  And it has changed everything.

Lindsey taught biology for 3 years in the Marshall Islands. She continues to learn through reading, traveling, running, coaching,mentoring and public health work.
3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Martha O. #

    Lindsey,
    A friend at Lovett shared your post with me. How wonderful to read your story! I’m sending it to my family. Peace to you, Martha Osborne

    April 24, 2012
    • Lindsey #

      Thanks so much, Martha! I hope you and the family are well. Love and peace, Lindsey

      April 24, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. “Where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet.” edu180atl: lindsey horton 4.20.12 | Synergy 8 Posterous

Leave a Reply

