Skip to content

edu180atl: julie sadtler 5.1.12

When I found out I was writing on May Day, I knew I could very easily weave in the themes of my own personal development journey into this post.  Over the last six months, and really over my entire life, I have been seeking for ways to learn and grow from life’s curve balls, and this year has been no exception.

Sometimes when life throws us too many curve balls in rapid succession, we feel overwhelmed or exhausted and have to admit that proceeding with the same life course is a sure-fire way to burnout.  We need to send a mayday signal to our loved ones and even our employers that it’s time to get help or to slow down.  In my case, I found a medical condition lurking below the surface last fall, resulting from a decade’s worth of curve balls, hiding behind an otherwise seemingly healthy and productive individual. Having the courage to send a mayday signal was hard, but it saved me, helped me change my life course for the better, put me on the road to a stronger and healthier way of living and opened my eyes to a new way of doing things.

As I look May Day in the face and think about my recent accomplishments, I can say with pride that I am growing into a better version of me!  As the folks in rural Cumbria would say, May Day is also a celebration about “unity and female bonding”.1  I would agree as I really cherish the knowledge and compassion my friends have shared along my journey (along with a few men I include in there, too).

Here’s to learning more about ourselves, continuing to find the balance, and celebrating the friends and family that help us get there!

1Source:  Wikipedia, a trusted friend and advisor

Image source: Un petit gout

About the author:  Proud wife of a great man and mom to two furry children, avid traveler, aspiring photographer; training and development coordinator for an international consulting firm

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Amy #

    Yay, Julie! I love how you stepped out of the vicious cycle into something better. I know it’s hard, but I’m so glad you have lots of loving support!

    May 1, 2012
    • Thanks so much, Amy! Yes, the support has been key, and moving forward feels just plain good! 🙂

      May 8, 2012
  2. Stephen G. Kennedy #

    This is very inspirational, and definitely heartfelt. It’s all too easy to hide behind the busyness and activity of the ‘surface stuff’ of our lives. Congratulations on letting the depth of your life drive your existence now. I admire that a great deal. (I’m just not sure what “furry” children are.)

    May 2, 2012
    • I love how you said that, Stephen…”the depth of my life” is definitely driving my existence now. Perfectly said, and what I hope would inspire others. Thank you for that and for your comment.
      And my furry children are my two kitties whom I love a ton…Maddie and Rusty Bucket!

      May 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

