Skip to content

edu180atl: donovan mitchell 5.17.12

I believe that having a unique point of view is good. Everyone is different. My creative thoughts are of unicorns and trolls running around, so I definitely see things differently.

When I was in preschool my class was always given coloring worksheets. They were pictures of animals, people, and other things. I always had trouble with this because my classmates were always using the blue to color the water or using the green to color the grass. I hated to color because I never got the color I wanted. I would have to wait in line for that specific color.

One day I was waiting in line for the blue so I could color a picture of a fish jumping out of the water. It was taking so long. I lost my patience and I cut in line. I grabbed the green from someone else and started coloring. The little boy got pretty angry and he came over with a pink and scribbled all over the water. I didn’t say a word. I just sat there with my mouth in mid-scream form staring at it. I thought it looked great with the green fish and the pink ocean. But I thought, that couldn’t be right. The ocean is not pink, it’s blue. I sat there puzzled for a while, then I decided that in this picture the ocean would be pink. That day I learned a very important lesson. I learned that the right color is not always the best color. I also learned that even though my classmates thought my pink ocean looked disgusting, I thought it looked great. It was great because I saw it as the most beautiful ocean ever.

As I grew older my colorings got weirder and weirder by the day. I started coloring eagles pink, blue, green, and orange. One day I found an activity where you look at a picture and its all black and white and there is more than one way to see something. It was very fun. They were optical illusions. There was one where you could see a big cup or two faces. In all of them you could see the pretty and upbeat thing or the dull and ugly thing. These pictures taught me how to look at things in different ways.

Everyone has a creative eye and sees things differently.

This I believe.

About the Author: Donovan Mitchell is a fifth grader at Trinity School with a passion for sports and animals. He loves to draw and color. Look for him in the 2020 summer Olympics as a swimmer for the U.S. Team.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Donovan,

    My hope is that when I watch you compete in the 2020 Summer Olympics you still have retained this confident perspective and continue to revel in your uniqueness.

    Great post!

    Holly Chesser

    May 17, 2012
  2. Dawn Pile #

    I learned so much about you in this piece of writing, Donovan. Thank you for the story! I hope you will always choose your own colors and your own way of seeing…in doing so you will continue to fill your life with wonder and create your own “stamp.” I can’t wait to see what that will be..and…I wonder what color water you will find in the the Olympic pool! Swim to the color of your choice.

    May 17, 2012
  3. marymeganhoward #

    What a wonderful post, Donovan! Thank you for sharing your passions and your pursuit of all things colorful. A post from earlier this week connects directly to your post today. Julie Rosenkranz wrote this post (http://edu180atl.org/2012/05/14/edu180atl-julie-rosenkranz-5-14-12/) and in it said “nothing kills creativity like negativity.” I see that you have a positive spirit and an optimistic outlook…..you will go so far with this kind of a mindset. Congrats on a great piece of writing and being a published writer for the edu180atl project! Ms. Howard 🙂

    May 17, 2012
  4. When I think about the things that are most important in life, being true to yourself is at the top of my list. I love your courage to choose your own colors. I love that you see the beautiful and dull. I see your respect and appreciation for different perspectives in the way that you choose and treat your friends. You make me very proud.

    May 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

