Skip to content

edu180atl: garrett kuk 8.10.12

Remember when there were no stupid questions?

Whatever happened to those days? Or, more correctly, when did we attach a stigma to curiosity?

Earlier today, I stopped into an auto parts store for a couple basic repairs. Those close to me know I’m not a wizard with a wrench, but I walked in confident and undeterred. You see, I didn’t have the answers, but I looked for someone who did. The two of us (well, mostly the other guy) exchanged key information, questions & answers, and a quick database search yielded the solution – the right part at the right price.

When I experience mental roadblocks, it’s usually the result of staying silent when instead I should ask for help. I try to redouble my efforts to find a solution – which seems wise until I consider a 2nd grader attempting to navigate an algebra problem. In both instances, the problem is not a matter of focus, but in ignoring the nearby teacher, parent, tutor, or classmate with the requisite knowledge.

Perhaps I would be more productive if I asked better questions when I got stuck. Perhaps we’d be better examples to our coworkers, families, and children if curiosity and information sharing outside of the classroom was expected and accepted in areas outside of academics.

Is there a bad habit you need to kick? Not sure how to prepare that new dinner recipe? Remember when you said *this time* you’d keep your New Year’s Resolution?

Remember when there were no stupid questions?

About the author: Garrett Kuk (@garrettkuk) is social media strategy partner @Speakeasy_Media, where he helps local businesses share their stories & engage customers online.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Thanks, Garrett. Just made my own home-grown list of critical thinking skills, and among the short list was “express questions,” which involves noticing them and giving them (audible) expression. We’re much better off asking.

    August 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

