Skip to content

edu180atl: anna moore 9.4.12

I ran 6 miles today.  I know folks who easily knock out a 10-20 mile run and follow it with three more days of 4-6 miles.  For me, 6 miles is monumental. Monumentally ugly at times. You know those gazelle-like folks you see prancing down the road, smiling, and carrying on a conversation?  

That’s not me.

I’m the tomato-red-faced woman making horrible oxygen deprived gargling sounds, sweating profusely, and checking to make sure I still have coverage on the phone strapped to my arm in case I need to call a taxi to get home. Sometimes, too, my vanity gets in the way.  I have times when my body needs me to slow down, or even walk for a moment. Then I hear a car approaching and think: I can’t let them see me walk!  Or, I’ll see another runner approaching, and I’ll refuse to let myself walk.

Such silliness.  My sister’s words on the day I ran my first 5K come to me:  “Run your own race.” When I remind myself of this, I am a better runner:  sometimes slower, sometimes faster.  But, always stronger because I am running for myself, for all the reasons I started running: to be healthy, manage stress, model a healthy lifestyle for my children, push myself to do something I did not think I could.  It’s my race.  It makes no difference who is faster or who runs further. It’s great to let those other folks inspire and encourage me, but their fitness does not change mine.  When I run, I have to go into my own head and body and get really honest about my strengths, my barriers, my fears, my goals.

As a teacher, how can I help my students learn to run, enjoy, and trust their own race?

Anna Moore is a novice runner and a biology teacher at Westminster.  Just like this post, she usually has more questions than answers! 

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cason #

    Great post, Anna. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    I think running (or any physical activity requiring endurance) is a great metaphor for the classroom. Students must push themselves, and we, the teachers, must demonstrate to them that it’s more important to race against themselves than any of their peers.

    You have also modeled another great aspect of the teacher-learner: questioning even when (or especially when) you don’t necessarily have the answers.

    Cason G (Westminster, c/o 2005; middle school LA teacher)

    September 4, 2012
  2. Maria Elisa Goncalves #

    Way to go Anna!!! Run, run, run, for life!

    September 5, 2012
  3. Maryellen Berry #

    Anna, what a great reminder to all of us in whatever “race” we are in to run the race set before us to the best of our ability. We are not called to run another’s race.

    September 5, 2012
  4. Anna, thanks for the great post about running…and about so much more than running. When we compete with ourselves and cooperate with others, we do seem to get further down the roads, don’t we?

    September 5, 2012
  5. Maureen Elliott #

    Anna, thank you for your honest reflection about running. I fondly remember the days when I could not run once around a track. Twelve years and many miles later, I have logged some great races and some “not so great” races, but every step I took, I remember doing so with incredible friends by my side. It will always be our own race, like you so beautifully put, I’m just really glad to have never had to take those steps alone. Such is running, and such is life.

    September 6, 2012
  6. scootd #

    “Long may you run.” ( Neil Young-mid 70s)

    September 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

