Skip to content

edu180atl: emily browning 9.6.12

As a Senior in high school most people assume you have an easier course load than Junior year. While this is true for some people, unfortunately this is not the case for me.  I plan on going to nursing school after high school and there is a great deal of science involved. I decided to “get ahead” and take an Organic Chemistry class. This is one of the more challenging courses offered at my school and I am seeing this very early on. I am beginning to question myself for taking this course.

In class today we talked about formal charges — the charge of an individual atom within a molecule. Sounds simple, right? Oh, but if only. For all of my fellow chemistry lovers you know that the sum of the formal charges has to equal the overall charge.

When we were first presented with this topic I was confused beyond belief, never a good feeling particularly in a class that you already found challenging. So I went to my class website to check out some videos my teacher had posted for reference and review. These videos were very helpful and I can somewhat tell you what a formal charge is. Now, I feel more confident when it comes to talking about formal charges. This may be the easiest thing we do all year.  Who knows?

From what I have heard from other students it can only go downhill from here 🙂

Emily Browning is a high school Senior at Holy Spirit Preparatory School. When she isn’t doing school work she enjoys playing basketball and tennis. After college she hopes to be a nurse working in a pediatric hospital.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Natalie Sterrett #

    Emily, I remember feeling the exact same way. Especially last spring, right before graduation, I felt completely overwhelmed. However, you, unlike me, already have the right attitude. By the time you’re preparing for graduation, you will know exactly how to handle the stress.

    September 6, 2012
  2. Kelly Reagan #

    Emily,

    I’m a senior in the nursing school at Unversity of Michigan. Getting a head start on classes like chemistry is a great idea- wish I had done that. You’ll have to get used to googling random websites for explanations on things, asking fellow classmates for help, or even finding tutors. It does get better! Although it may seem overwhelming at first, the hard work is worth it and I am so thankful I chose this profession.

    September 7, 2012
  3. My dear Emily, how far you’ve come from that timid seventh grader I met not so long ago! I’m so proud of your initiative and gumption. Your growing confidence over the years has been a sight to behold. Keep reaching for your goals, kiddo. Never stop learning!

    September 8, 2012
    • Emily B #

      Thank you for the encouragement! It’s getting better already 🙂

      Jenny! I’m glad I not the same timid seventh grader anymore 🙂 thank you for encouraging me to do this and many others as well! Xo

      September 24, 2012

Leave a Reply

