Skip to content

edu180atl: michelle murphy 9.7.12

In a little over a month, I will be ending one decade and beginning the next as the big 3-0 slowly but surely approaches. Needless to say, I can already sense the much-anticipated anxiety of starting a new decade considering the fact that the following thoughts float through my mind daily:

“Is this why the bags under my eyes are getting bigger?”

“Is that…wait….is that…does my back ache all of a sudden? All I did was sit in a chair!”

“Do I have to start spending more than $7.99 at CVS on my daily face cream?”

“A WILL? No I do not have a will. I’m twenty-ni…oh no.”

“Why does the dinner start at 8:30? That means we will be out past 10!! I can’t stay awake past 10 anymore.”

While I don’t have all the answers to the questions that float through my mind, I am reaching a few conclusions about myself.

For example. I hate camping. I’ve tried it. I don’t like it. I’m not going.

Also, I will not be in your book club since I am usually the only nerd in the room who actually finishes the book.

Finally, and most importantly, life is short, but sweet and despite the many obstacles we face, there are many celebrations to be had along the way. I intend to find every excuse to celebrate, and to celebrate often. Of course this all starts AFTER the big 3-0 is here.

Michelle Murphy is an 8th grade science teacher at the Lovett School. She enjoys coffee, yoga, pretty shiny things, koalas, and Mindy Kaling.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. This post is a hoot! Makes me miss hanging out with creative, interesting teachers all day.

    Enjoy your many celebrations ahead, Michelle, and may they all end by 10 pm.

    September 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

