Skip to content

edu180atl: brooke hight 9.17.12

I began this school year knowing that it would be quite a transition, moving from having my own homeroom classroom to working with twelve classrooms as an Academic Coach. As exciting as this transition has been, I don’t think I realized how difficult it would be to not have my “home base.”

In preparation for this new position, I kept reminding myself that I’d be working with many children in many classrooms. But the reality of not having “my own children” has been a bit challenging. I must say, however, today I turned a corner. I was thrilled to receive three unsolicited Pre-First hugs (the very best kind) and countless shouts of “Hi, Ms. Hight” from children as they walked down the hall. It has created a great sense of belonging in me.

Having this new position has solidified my understanding that I am in the field of education for the children. With them is where I work at my best and where I feel the most invigorated and creative. The lesson I have learned is that I haven’t lost my own classroom, but instead gained an entire school’s worth of loving and inquisitive children.

About the author: Brooke Hight (@brookehight) is an Academic Coach for grades Pre-First through 2nd at The Westminster Schools. She is passionate about her work with teachers and students. ­

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kristi kerins #

    How lucky are the many children you will be working with this year and likewise, how lucky are the teachers to have such a dedicated, hardworking team player as a coach!!

    September 17, 2012
  2. Brooke,

    I’d love to come visit and see how this new role and space is evolving. I know the feeling of being “disconnected” from such intimate relationships as teacher and students; however, I find the opportunity to help teachers evolve their own learning and classrooms to be extraordinary.

    And, yes, those hugs in the hallway go a long way to reminding us why we do what we do each and every day.

    Blessings! And, thank you for sharing!

    September 18, 2012
  3. Stephanie #

    Can’t believe I missed this! I am proud of you and inspired by you. Cheers to a great year!

    October 6, 2012

Leave a Reply

