Skip to content

edu180atl: annie gough 10.5.12

I feel like math is helping me learn how to solve questions, and it just feels really good when I write numbers.  I feel good about math when my teachers and my friends are there to help me.  I like this year’s math because we have something called Math Message. It is fun, and it helps you warm up your brain for math. Sometimes it teaches us something that we already know.  It helps us use strategies about counting numbers.

My name is Annie.  My teacher’s name is Mrs. Sadler.  She taught me how to minus 8’s and 9’s.  How do you minus 8’s and 9’s?  If the question is 43-8, you would minus 10.  That would be 33.  Now you add 2 and you have 35. How do you minus 9? If the question is 101-9, you would minus 10.  That would be 91.  Now you add 1, and you have 92.

I like math because it is good for your brain.   I like good stuff for your brain.  I like to solve puzzles.  I like math because it will help you along the way while you are growing up.

Some people are faster at math, and some are slower.  It doesn’t really matter if you are fast.  I am one of the slow ones.  One of my friends is fast with math, but we both learn.  It is not a race.  Does it really matter if you are faster or slower?  No.  It really matters that you learn.

About the author: Annie is a roller-skating, ponytail-wearing, bike-riding 2nd grade girl who loves to read and write and has magnificent teachers.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Stephen G. Kennedy #

    Math was hard for me in school and I developed some anxiety about it. Annie, your writing helped me be a little less nervous about it. Thanks for being a good teacher with your good writing!

    October 5, 2012
  2. Maryellen Berry #

    Does it really matter if you are faster or slower? You are so right. It does not matter one bit. It only matters if you are learning or not. It is clear to me that you have learned a lot!

    October 6, 2012
  3. Isn’t it nice to know that it doesn’t matter whether you are fast or slow? We all need to remind ourselves that learning “is not a race.” Thank you, Annie, for the reminder!

    October 6, 2012
  4. I wish so much I had learned how to minus 8s and 9s the way you have, Annie. Maybe math and I would have better friends. I am so happy that you already know that you never have to work at the same speed as someone else. Your brain is helping you be the best learner YOU can be…that is all that matters. Liking good stuff for your brain makes every day so much fun…and you wrote this beautiful message to remind me of that! Thank you!

    October 6, 2012
  5. Annie, What wonderful words you have written about enjoying things that are good for your brain. Some of the most amazing things that scientists, teachers, doctors, and others have ever learned have taken them years and years to learn. Your writing helps me remember that the very best parts of learning include learning with and from great teachers like you have and enjoying the process of learning as mich as finding out what the true answer is! Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    October 7, 2012
  6. Gloria Beswick #

    Miss Annie, You have a wonderful outlook on learning and what is important. And some nice strategies for subtraction too.

    October 7, 2012
  7. Annie Sunshine! I love your post. I like how you teach us about patterns. The patterns of numbers and the patterns of being human. When I was in 8th grade, I almost “flunked” math. I had always been great at math. My teacher, Mrs. Roberts, saw a pattern in my learning. She realized that I needed context. I would understand chapter 3 material, but not until I got to chapter 4…when I needed the chapter 3 stuff. So, Mrs. Roberts let me take my tests “late.” I took my chapter 3 test when we were deep in chapter 4…when I was seeing the context of the algebra. In high school, I returned to making strong grades in math. I know it was because of the pattern that Mrs. Roberts saw…and I know that she care more about me knowing than about how fast I was at the math. I owe her a ton for seeing that pattern and doing something atypical with a student learner. You have shown your readers such a pattern of putting people before content. You know I love you, but I’ll say it one more time. I love you!

    October 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

