Skip to content

edu180atl: craig lambert 10.8.12

Yesterday, I asked, “What do I need to do next to achieve my goals?” I see so many possible avenues to explore, and I don’t know what threads to follow.

This morning I was reading Linchpin by Seth Godin and I got the best answer I could have ever wanted: “No one actually knows what to do. The art of challenging the resistance [the fear-based amygdala/ lizard brain] is doing something when you’re not certain it’s going to work.”

I’ve been so culturally brainwashed into thinking that I have to know what’s going to work and then do that.

Of course, my two-year-old and four-year-old have no such qualms. They do a million things a day that are ineffective and yield poor results. But they don’t care. They get right back on the saddle and try something else. How ironic that I have to read a book to relearn something that my toddlers have already mastered.

So now I have my list of action steps to take, and I don’t know what’s going to yield something fruitful. Scary, right?

Probably my greatest fear is that I will do something and it’ll look amateur. So I turned the page in Linchpin and read these quotes from Bre Pettis:

“Pretending you know what you’re doing is almost the same as knowing what you are doing, so accept that you know what you’re doing even if you don’t and do it.

“Laugh at perfection. It’s boring and keeps you from being done.”

About the author: Advocate for each young person’s genius to be recognized, expressed, challenged, and developed in order to serve others.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Craig,

    Wise words from Seth Godin and your great synthesis are just what I needed to read today. And echo an conversation with my dad yesterday afternoon. We must do the work, get going, and leave self-doubt behind. It is in doing, and iteration, that we learn and grow.

    THANK YOU!

    October 8, 2012
  2. Barbara Lambert #

    I like it too. Just what I need now.
    Your mom.

    October 8, 2012
  3. From Anne Lamott: “Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor, the enemy of the people. It will keep you cramped and insane your whole life, and it is the main obstacle between you and a shitty first draft. I think perfectionism is based on the obsessive belief that if you run carefully enough, hitting each stepping-stone just right, you won’t have to die. The truth is that you will die anyway and that a lot of people who aren’t even looking at their feet are going to do a whole lot better than you, and have a lot more fun while they’re doing it.”

    October 9, 2012
  4. Craig, this is a magnificent post. Recently, I have been digging into the radials of the root of education – educare. If the root of education means “to draw out that which is within” then we should know better what are the essences of being children…being “fresh” humans. You hit a major chord. Young humans explore through trial and they carry no baggage of perfection heaviness. That allows them their genuine discovery and wonder. It is the core of the growth mindset – something we are ALL born with and some of us sustain and maintain.

    Thanks for writing and sharing here! People would do well to read your blog regularly too. It’s one of my favorites. http://pullnotpush.wordpress.com/

    October 9, 2012

Leave a Reply

