Skip to content

edu180atl: kate chesser 10.10.12

Around three weeks ago, September 22, my school volleyball team was just about to maintain our almost undefeated record. The ball went flying in the air, and I chased after it, moving my feet quickly. At that moment, I felt a sudden pop in my right foot. Refusing to come out of the game, I played till the end. After we shook the other team’s hands, I slowly took off my shoe and looked in horror at the huge purplish, green knot on the edge of my foot.

Immediately, I questioned whether or not I could try out for the incredibly competitive club volleyball team, A5, I’ve played on the last two years. Since my parents were visiting my sister at college, my coach’s mom took me to the ER and a blue cast was placed on my foot for another 2 weeks. Just Friday, the orthopedist took it off and replaced it with a boot that I will have to wear for another week or two. My foot is not healed all the way, and tryouts are next Monday.

I know my foot won’t be 100% ready, but I will play through the pain and hope to make a team. Today, I learned that you cannot change accidents or injuries; you have to move on and think about what you can do to accept certain obstacles that come your way.

About the Author:  Kate Chesser, a seventh grader, is a competitive volleyball player or at least she hopes to continue to be.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. patrick #

    I have faith in you little woman. Even though your father was beat 6-0, 6-1 in a tennis match last weekend and was beat in the boxing ring by his boss with a torn Achilles, my guess is you inherited your mother’s athleticism. Good luck in tryouts.

    October 10, 2012
  2. Good luck during tryouts. Break a leg! Wait no. Don’t.

    – justin bieber

    October 10, 2012
  3. Good luck in tryouts. However, seems your heart and will can trump “luck” any day.

    October 12, 2012
  4. Dylan Deal #

    This is a powerful reminder. I admire your courage.

    October 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

