Skip to content

edu180atl: dylan deal 10.11.12

When analyzing the world, I tend to rely on familiar paradigms.  I studied theology in college, have taught it for 11 years, and feel comfortable with the ethereal and its paradoxical nature.  My experience tells me that the world works in paradoxes too: less is more, in giving we receive, change is loss, disruption leads to order, humility is power, etc.

This week I am reminded of the universe’s counterintuitiveness as HIES celebrates Homecoming.  Somewhat ironically the theme is Oh, the Places You’ll Go!   Homecoming traditionally honors those who return having blazed new trails.  This year we concurrently champion those who will soon courageously go forth to stare down new challenges.

This contrast reminds me of Isaac Brock’s counterintuitive assertion in his song “Life Like Weeds” that “in the places you go you’ll see the place where you’re from.”  We live our lives in context, always.  There are no vacuums.  As a teacher I am called to remember this axiom.  No student is an island, nor is any particular subject.  Students are complex creatures with complex pasts, interests, modi operandi.  Essentially, no matter how territorial I may want to be, there are no silos…

In the preceding verse Brock also laments, “I should have told you all that I love you.”  As we go forth into the world undaunted, we have to remember our context, name it, honor it. I am because others are or have been.  And, lest I live in regret, I should tell them that I love them.

About the author: Dylan Deal (@dylandeal10) teaches, Deans, and loves his wife and daughter.  He is in perpetual search of the transcending in the seemingly temporal.

 

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Stephen G. Kennedy #

    This nicely reminds me of TS Eliot’s “Four Quartets.” Very poetic, spiritual, and a reminder to tell what is important. Thank you!

    October 11, 2012
    • Dylan Deal #

      Thank you. I love Eliot. That anything I write causes someone to think if him heartens me! Thanks for making my day.

      October 12, 2012
      • Stephen Kennedy #

        How good to receive on my triplets’ seventeenth birthday. Returning to the place……

        October 23, 2012
  2. John Porter #

    Mevlana would be pleased, Dr. D. Beautifully done.

    October 11, 2012
    • Dylan Deal #

      First Eliot, then Rumi – I think Katie told people it is my birthday.

      October 12, 2012
  3. Well done, Mr. Deal.

    October 11, 2012
    • Dylan Deal #

      I paid attention in freshmen English.

      October 12, 2012
  4. Gérard Gatoux #

    Bien écrit mon ami!

    October 12, 2012
    • Dylan Deal #

      To watch you share your spirit has been inspiring. I have learned a lot from you.

      October 12, 2012
  5. What a beautiful post. In fact, love is the thread that can join the silos and enrich the contexts. We’ve got brains in our heads and feet in our shoes. We have love in our hearts, too. We should use them all – together – unsilo-ed.

    October 12, 2012
    • Dylan Deal #

      A thousand amens.

      October 12, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. #MustRead Shares (weekly) | it's about learning

Leave a Reply

