Skip to content

edu180atl: margee durand 10.25.12

The email came at 2:33 p.m. yesterday.  The message was “All clear.”  Surgery was a success.  The patient would be released to go home today at 4:00.  Recovery would take a while and there would be some rather severe pain but the prognosis was excellent.   I was relieved, enormously so.

The first text came a week and half ago on a Tuesday at the same time.  “Call as soon as you can.”  Nothing else.  It was unusual as it was from one of my dearest friends, an incredibly energetic, busy television personality who never makes personal calls in the middle of the day.  This was important.  I called.

She was calm and as on point as ever.  No greeting.   “I have breast cancer. No, don’t talk.  I found out a week ago and the surgery is on October 24.”  Breathe in!  So, many questions.  When? How? What next?  How are you? How are the boys?  Your mother?  Where to start?  She never let me panic for her, or worry.  She just said, “Hang in there. I’ll be fine. I was going to get a breast reduction and tummy tuck anyway.  Now my insurance will handle it and my breasts will never sag.”  I laughed.  She laughed harder.

In the last five days, she has attended her ex-husbands wedding, attended her grandmother’s funeral, and had both breasts removed.   Seriously?!

What I learned: The strongest person I know is stronger than I could have ever imagined.  And much funnier!  Life is a crazy ride – Hang on!

About the author: Margee Durand is a mother, a teacher, a friend who loves a crazy ride but isn’t always thrilled about the surprises along the way.   Good thing there are plenty of laughs thrown in.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Rebekah W. #

    So true!
    Life is a crazy roller coaster! You just have to get used to the ups and downs, then it will smooth out for awhile. As for your friend, I hope she is feeling better.

    November 5, 2012

Leave a Reply

