Skip to content

edu180atl: anna goeppner 11.8.12

Last night, while lying in bed, I was thinking about how I learn the best. I couldn’t figure out the answer. I was absolutely stuck. Little did I know that the next day the answer would present itself to me in science class.  When we walked in, everybody was buzzing with chatter. There were multiple cups of different colored M&Ms on the table and, of course, the class was tempted to run up and eat some M&Ms, but we held back and endured a short science lesson first. Then, all of a sudden, Dr. Martin revealed that we had an exciting activity coming up.

We were all given a picture of an animal or plant. I was slightly disgusted to find out that my picture was of a slimy looking earthworm slithering in the dirt. Then we all congregated in the center of the classroom. Because my earthworm was a decomposer, I was put in the back of the room along with three other people. Dr. Martin turned toward us and instructed us to walk around the classroom as the other students exchanged their different colored M&Ms to represent the energy pyramid in different ecosystems. The sun gave candies to the plants…the plants gave to the herbivores…the herbivores gave to the omnivores and carnivores…the omnivores and carnivores gave to the apex predators…who finally gave to us, the decomposers!

After this activity, I learned my true learning style. I realized that I am most definitely a hands-on learner and will use that information to help me study and learn for the rest of my life. Now I know that whenever I have trouble understanding a concept, I can turn any study guide or resource into a hands-on experience to help me understand.

About the Author: Anna, fifth grader at The Walker School, enjoys ice-skating, reading, and playing with her dog, Lilo. In her spare time, she bakes, studies, and thinks.

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Shanzeh Sheikh #

    Anna,
    I enjoyed reading your post. It was wonderful and made me feel like I was there, which I was! That science activity was really exciting. I loved being one of the plants and getting energy from the sun using photosynthesis.
    Shanzeh

    November 8, 2012
    • Anna Goeppner #

      Shanzeh,
      Thank you so much for your kind response. Congratulations, you are the first comment just like you wanted.
      Anna

      November 8, 2012
  2. Maryellen Berry #

    Anna, what a gift to have figured out the way you learn as a Fifth Grader! I also think you should know that I am impressed with your vocabulary and writing style. Thanks for sharing your ideas with the world!

    November 9, 2012
    • Anna, you continue to think, just as you were a thinker in first grade. How wonderful you have deciphered your learning style. I know you will be able to transfer this knowledge when you come to challenges along the way. (I can just picture you when you first discovered your picture was a worm) Keep up the blogging, I am proud of you! Love, Mrs. Aho

      November 11, 2012
  3. Kitty Drew #

    Anna,
    My cup runneth over with joy, not M & M’s, as I read your post. You are the first person I have ever met who lists “thinking” as an activity. Keep learning and loving to learn. Hugs, Miss Drew

    November 11, 2012
    • Holly Martin #

      It’s obvious that Anna does a lot of it too. Great writers begin with great thinking.

      November 12, 2012
  4. Kim Rodrigues #

    Anna,

    I enjoyed your article. You started with wondering and then found your way to the answer. I love your writing style, your great vocabulary and details. Your article was very engaging!

    Mrs. Rodrigues

    November 11, 2012
  5. Holly Martin #

    Anna,
    I am glad you enjoyed learning about the energy cycle via M&M’s. Somehow chocolate is able to break through a lot of learning styles. It’s great that you are getting in tune with how you learn best–it is helpful to know as you take on greater learning endeavors, and I feel sure you will be. Thanks for posting about our activity. Keep writing!

    November 12, 2012
  6. Cecelis Sullivan #

    Goodmorning Anna, What a great lesson. I LOVE the fact that you thought about it first and then let it go. Because the thought was there, when the answer came, you saw it. Keep on thinking, Anna. The world is your classroom. Think big ~ Cecelia Sullivan

    November 12, 2012
  7. Ms. Hood #

    Anna,

    What a tasty way to find out your learning style 🙂 I, too, am a hands on learner and have relied on that to keep me learning and learning. Your writing continues to impress me and I can’t imagine the possibilities that are ahead of you now. Love, Ms. Hood

    November 12, 2012
  8. Kathy Smith #

    Anna,

    I enjoyed reading your article on learning styles. It was so descriptive, I could picture myself there! I am so proud of you-keep up the great work!
    Love,
    Mrs. Smith

    November 13, 2012
  9. kathy10ee@yahoo.com #

    Wow Anna, I was there too watching all of you buzz around the room with excitement! It is so fun to learn in a “hands on way!” I can tell you enjoy learning and that makes me happy! Great article Anna!

    December 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

