Skip to content

edu180atl: lisa lopez 11.13.12

I am fond of learning from other people; I enjoy being a student.   I love the anticipation of walking into a safe educational environment with my favorite pens and pencils, my journal, my laptop and my bottle of water.  I delight in connecting with people and gaining new insights from them.

Nevertheless, the most important and life changing lessons, I cannot arrange or prepare for.  I don’t usually walk into a safe setting with all the necessary tools to embrace rejection or failure.  I don’t willingly schedule a life crisis andI certainly do not tingle with anticipation when I walk into my house after a full day of work to my 5 year-old asking for help with homework while my 3 year-old boy explores independence by serving himself a glass of water… and fails. All of this at the same time my 10 year-old daughter’s developmental mood swings have found a target in me and my 12 year-old daughter is eager to tell me something important…NOW…in private.

Oh, did I mention everyone is starving and I still have my book bag on my shoulder?

Yet, these scenarios will not cease to teach me (or should I say haunt?), until I choose to learn from them.
“Yes, Lisa:” the quiet, gentle voice inside me says: “learning is always a choice.”
And so I must willingly walk into my own safe environment with my favorite pens and pencils, my journal, my bottle of water and perhaps my laptop to make sense of my own story and what it is teaching me.
Unquestioningly, we are our most valuable resource in our quest for enlightenment.

About the Author:  My name is Lisa López.  I’ m a dancer, a writer, a baker, a guide, a healer, and a quiet observer, someone who drinks a lot of water and generally tries to live in the light.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Be still and listen. I was talking with our son last night about living the questions and giving time and space to “live into” the answers. We were talking about career paths and decision making, and how difficult it is when you aren’t sure of what you want to do, and yet you are clear on what you don’t want to do. We talked about finding the “thread,” that thing that may be invisible to others, and not always visible to you, that you hold onto as you go through life and uncover who you are meant to be. I think you are right: the conditions may not always be present for “optimal learning,” but if we ourselves can become a safe environment with an ever evolving set of tools with which to learn and live life, then, yes, we can find not only enlightenment, but peace. And that peace can illuminate the path of lifelong learning for others.

    November 14, 2012
    • A peaceful and joyful existence is what I usually strive for, you are very perceptive . Your son is very lucky to have you illuminate his path with your soothing presence.

      November 14, 2012
  2. A peaceful and joyful existence is what I usually strive for, you are very perceptive :). Your son is very lucky to have you illuminate his path with your soothing presence.

    November 14, 2012

Leave a Reply

