Skip to content

edu180atl: andrea moreno 11.29.12

Last summer I found out I had to switch schools. I was devastated.  An old classmate from my old school that goes to Sutton texted me “It’s really fun. Don’t worry.” I thought she was just saying that, so I wouldn’t feel bad.

The first day I was very nervous.  I had the worst expectations about school. I cried the whole way there. I hid inside my shell.

In Social Studies, my teacher cleared his throat and began talking about a subject that I hadn’t taken concern with: South-West Asia. He passionately talked and pointed, spitting out facts as he went. I was mesmerized. I didn’t think that it was possible for us to be learning about this in 7th grade. I wrote everything he said as fast as I could.  I forgot about my anxiety.  I found hope.

A few days later, I called my best friend (who still goes to my old school.)  and practically recited everything I remembered from my notes.  Naturally, she was also amazed “Wow, where did you hear that?” When I told her it was all from my class, she just laughed. “ Andrea, they can’t teach you that at public school! My parents are paying money for my education and our teacher just sits on her computer all day.

That hit home.  I quickly said goodbye and thought about what she said.  I wasn’t offended.  But my friends words mirrored my own previous opinion. I had judged the entire idea of a new school with unfounded hatred, and it turns out it is better than the place I was at before!   Thank you teachers, parents and God.

About the author: Andrea Moreno is an aspiring young photographer. She works hard at everything she does, always giving it her all.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. ¡Bien hecho, guapa! Te quiero.

    November 30, 2012
  2. abue #

    no se si recibiras mi comentario pero de todas formas solo quiero decirte que no entiendo ni “papa” pero como lo has escrito tú tiene que ser una maravilla lo que expresas. Si recibes mi comentario dímelo. te quiere tu abue.

    December 1, 2012
  3. Carlos Moreno #

    Andrea…eres estupenda! No puedo leerlo solamente una vez; lo leo una y otra vez… te quiero guapisima!

    December 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

